Digestive Enzymes: Lactase, Alpha-Galactosidase & Blends Compared
Educational overview — not medical advice. Digestive enzyme supplements are not a substitute for prescribed pancreatic enzyme replacement therapy or for medical evaluation of persistent GI symptoms. This statement has not been evaluated by the FDA. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
Match the enzyme to the job — there is no single "best digestive enzyme." Lactase has been tested in milk-challenge trials (breath-hydrogen and symptom RCTs). Alpha-galactosidase (Beano-type) has been tested against bean-meal gas challenges — but its one chronic-IBS trial was null. Pancreatic enzyme replacement therapy is a prescription medicine for a diagnosed condition, not an OTC bloating fix. Broad-spectrum "digestive enzyme" blends rest on thin, small, short trials — one is 100% manufacturer-authored. And enzymes are dosed in activity units, not mg — most blends don't disclose them at all.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Of 5 products tracked; grouped by evidence-backed use case, never by commission — see the full breakdown including the three broad-spectrum blends.
Start here
Why one verdict doesn't work for "digestive enzymes"
"Digestive enzymes" isn't one ingredient with one evidence base — it's a category label covering at least four genuinely different products with four genuinely different evidence tiers. Lactase (beta-galactosidase) breaks down the milk sugar lactose and has real crossover-RCT evidence in people with confirmed lactose malabsorption. Alpha-galactosidase breaks down the raffinose-family oligosaccharides in beans, lentils, and cruciferous vegetables that human digestive enzymes can't touch on their own — also real, RCT-backed, for an acute bean-meal gas challenge. Pancreatic enzyme replacement therapy (lipase, protease, and amylase together, at prescription-grade activity) is a prescription therapy for a diagnosed condition — strictly a clinical matter, so this page gives no dosing for it. And broad-spectrum "digestive enzyme complex" products — the ones sold as general bloating/gas support for people without any diagnosed enzyme deficiency — rest on the thinnest evidence of the four: small, short, mostly single-center trials, with the strongest-looking positive result authored entirely by the ingredient's own manufacturer. Treating these four as one interchangeable claim is exactly the kind of category-blur this page exists to correct.
The activity-units-vs-mg trap
The single biggest source of buyer confusion in this category, and it applies before any dose number is worth reading: enzymes are dosed in activity units — FCC or ALU (Acid Lactase Units) for lactase, GalU (galactosidase units) for alpha-galactosidase, USP or Ph.Eur lipase units for pancreatic enzymes — not milligrams. A milligram figure on an enzyme label describes the weight of the ingredient, not how much digestive work it can actually do; potency is assayed per manufacturing batch and doesn't translate cleanly from one unit system to another. Most broad-spectrum blends sidestep this entirely: they disclose a proprietary-blend milligram total ("391mg," "620mg") with no per-enzyme activity-unit breakdown at all, which tells a buyer almost nothing about actual potency. This is the same honest-rigor point the site has already made for bromelain's GDU/MCU/FIP units (see does bromelain work) — now applied across a whole shelf of enzyme-blend products. Full breakdown on the dosage guide.
The use-by-use grade, at a glance
| Use case | Enzyme | Evidence tier | The honest limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lactose malabsorption (milk challenge) | Lactase | Targeted trials | Acute milk-challenge trials, not free-living daily use; small n (30, 60) |
| Bean/legume/FODMAP gas | Alpha-galactosidase | Targeted trials | One IBS trial was null — doesn't generalize to chronic IBS |
| Diagnosed pancreatic enzyme insufficiency | Pancreatic enzyme replacement therapy | Prescription-only | Not an OTC self-care category — see a gastroenterologist |
| General bloating/dyspepsia (healthy people) | Broad-spectrum blend | Weak/thin | Small, short, single-center trials; one 100% manufacturer-authored |
The one-line takeaway Match the enzyme to the job: lactase and alpha-galactosidase both have targeted trials. A broad-spectrum "digestive support" blend for general bloating in an otherwise-healthy person does not have that evidence, no matter how it's priced. And if you have diagnosed exocrine pancreatic insufficiency, no OTC blend on this page is a substitute for prescribed enzyme therapy. See the full evidence verdict for every citation, use case, and effect size.
Safety, briefly
Side effects were generally mild at the studied OTC doses across all four use-case buckets, but there are specific things to know. Alpha-galactosidase and most broad-spectrum blend enzymes are commonly sourced from fungal fermentation (Aspergillus niger/oryzae) — a possible, generally low-risk allergy source. Some broad-spectrum blends, including NOW Super Enzymes, contain pancreatin, which is typically pork-derived — a real consideration for anyone avoiding pork or with a porcine allergy; Pure Encapsulations and Nutricost are marketed vegetarian by contrast. GI upset is a documented, not just theoretical, downside: in the one negative alpha-galactosidase trial (Hillilä 2016), more patients withdrew from the active arm than placebo specifically from abdominal pain and diarrhea. And pancreatic enzyme replacement therapy is a medical therapy for a diagnosed disease — never a self-care substitute; anyone with EPI symptoms should see a gastroenterologist, not shop a product page. No citation in this evidence base measures disease reversal — "enzymes cure IBS" or "heal your gut" claims are marketing overreach, not something any trial here supports.
Frequently asked questions
What are digestive enzyme supplements actually good for?
Depends on the enzyme. Lactase and alpha-galactosidase have targeted trials (milk and bean-meal challenges). Pancreatic enzymes are prescription-only. Broad-spectrum blends have thin evidence. This site makes no claim that any enzyme treats a condition.
Why does activity-units-vs-mg matter?
A milligram figure on an enzyme label doesn't indicate potency — enzymes are assayed in FCC/ALU/GalU/lipase units. Most broad-spectrum blends disclose mg only, which is itself the honest finding.
Can an OTC enzyme replace my prescribed pancreatic enzymes?
No. PERT is a prescription therapy dosed by body weight and titrated by a prescriber for diagnosed EPI. An OTC blend is not an equivalent-dose substitute.
Related guides
- Probiotics for bloating — the same symptom, a completely different mechanism (gut flora vs exogenous enzymes)
- Probiotics for IBS — another gut-flora approach worth comparing against alpha-galactosidase's IBS null
- Fiber — fiber ramp-up gas is a well-established, separate cause of the same bloating symptom
- Inulin vs psyllium — fermentable-fiber gas is a FODMAP-adjacent topic to alpha-galactosidase's use case
- Psyllium — the site's most-evidenced fiber supplement, for comparison
- Does bromelain work? — the site's original activity-units-not-mg case study, for a single enzyme
Sources
- Montalto M, Nucera G, Santoro L, et al. "Effect of exogenous beta-galactosidase in patients with lactose malabsorption and intolerance: a crossover double-blind placebo-controlled study." Eur J Clin Nutr. 2005. PMID: 15674309
- Ojetti V, Gigante G, Gabrielli M, et al. "The effect of oral supplementation with Lactobacillus reuteri or tilactase in lactose intolerant patients: randomized trial." Eur Rev Med Pharmacol Sci. 2010. PMID: 20391953
- Di Stefano M, Miceli E, Gotti S, et al. "The effect of oral alpha-galactosidase on intestinal gas production and gas-related symptoms." Dig Dis Sci. 2007. PMID: 17151807
- Hillilä M, Färkkilä MA, Sipponen T, et al. "Does oral α-galactosidase relieve irritable bowel symptoms?" Scand J Gastroenterol. 2016. PMID: 26133538
- de la Iglesia-García D, Huang W, Szatmary P, et al. "Efficacy of pancreatic enzyme replacement therapy in chronic pancreatitis: systematic review and meta-analysis." Gut. 2017. PMID: 27941156 (COI: co-author consultancy/financial support from Abbott/Mylan).
- Majeed M, Majeed S, Nagabhushanam K, et al. "Evaluation of the Safety and Efficacy of a Multienzyme Complex in Patients with Functional Dyspepsia: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study." J Med Food. 2018. PMID: 30156436 (COI: authors are Sami/Sabinsa founders/employees, DigeZyme's manufacturer).
- Full product dataset: /digestive-enzymes/cost-by-brand.json (CC BY 4.0).
Compare Digestive Enzyme Products by Cost Per Day
If you're ready to buy, here's how the digestive enzyme products we track and verify compare on cost per day.
| Product | Dose/Serving | Servings | Price | Cost/Day | Certification (as labelled) | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beano Extra Strength (100ct) | not stated | 100 | $11.98 | $0.12 | None claimed | Buy on Amazon |
| Nutricost Digestive Enzymes 620mg (120ct) | 620 mg blend | 120 | $19.95 | $0.17 | Vegetarian-friendly (label claim) | Buy on Amazon |
| Lactaid Fast Act Caplets (96ct) | not stated | 96 | $16.97 | $0.18 | None claimed | Buy on Amazon |
| NOW Super Enzymes (90ct) | not stated | 90 | $25.49 | $0.29 | None claimed | Buy on Amazon |
| Pure Encapsulations Digestive Enzymes Ultra (180ct) | 391 mg blend | 90 | $66.50 | $0.74 | Vegetarian (label claim) | Buy on Amazon |