Best Tongkat Ali in Canada (2026): Standardization, Dose and Cost
Not medical advice. Ask a clinician before use if you take medication or have a medical condition. Prices are current Amazon.ca figures per serving, in CAD.
Two things are worth checking on a tongkat ali label: a disclosed eurycomanone percentage, the marker behind the 200 to 400 mg a day the trials used, and third-party heavy-metal testing. A "200:1" ratio does not tell you the active content. Neither tongkat ali product listed for Canada discloses both.
Most disclosure:Inertia Supplements 600mg (100:1 Extract) states its extract ratio and carries a Health Canada Natural Product Number (a licence, not independent third-party testing), $0.27/day. Cheapest per day: the OrganiMAXX 6X Strength 600mg, $0.25/day, but it states neither an extract ratio nor a certification.
Reality check: the human studies are small and results are mixed. Quality and labeling vary a lot between brands.
How to choose (the two markers that matter)
Tongkat ali is one of the worse-labeled categories in supplements, so the bar for "good" is mostly about transparency:
- Disclosed eurycomanone %. Eurycomanone is the active quassinoid that research standardizes to. A product that states "2%" or "10% eurycomanone" tells you what you're getting. A product that only says "200:1 extract" is telling you about its concentration process, not its active content, those aren't the same, and the ratio can hide a weak extract.
- Third-party heavy-metal testing. This matters more for tongkat ali than almost any other supplement, see what "third-party tested" actually means if you're not sure what that phrase should guarantee. The root naturally accumulates heavy metals (lead, mercury, arsenic) from soil, and cheap imported extracts have failed contaminant testing. Look for HPTLC/third-party verification, or certification like Informed Sport (see how USP, NSF, and Informed Sport differ).
Dose-wise, human studies cluster around 200-400mg/day of standardized water extract. The 400 mg/day figure comes from a 25-person pilot in adults 57–72 with no placebo group.
Best tongkat ali, ranked
| Product | Standardization | Dose | Servings | Price | Cost/Day | Testing | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OrganiMAXX 6X Strength Tongkat Ali 600 mg | Raw extract (ratio and eurycomanone % not disclosed) | 600mg | 60 | $29.99 | $0.25 | None stated | Buy |
| Inertia Supplements Tongkat Ali 600 mg (100:1 Extract) | 100:1 extract (eurycomanone % not disclosed) | 600mg | 60 | $31.99 | $0.27 | Health Canada NPN 80133495 | Buy |
Which to pick
Most disclosure: Inertia Supplements 100:1 Extract
Inertia Supplements Tongkat Ali 600mg (100:1 Extract) is the more transparent of the two products sold in Canada: it states its 100:1 extract ratio and carries a Health Canada Natural Product Number (NPN 80133495), meaning Health Canada has licensed it, not that it has been independently tested for heavy metals. It does not state a eurycomanone percentage, so treat "100:1" the way this page treats any bare ratio: a manufacturing statistic, not a potency claim.
Cheapest per day: OrganiMAXX 6X Strength
OrganiMAXX 6X Strength Tongkat Ali 600mg costs a little less per day than the Inertia product, but states neither an extract ratio nor any certification. The 600mg-per-capsule figure is a raw-extract weight, not a standardized dose.
Method: neither of the 2 tongkat ali products sold in Canada states an NSF/ANSI 173, USP Verified, or Informed Sport certification on its own label or brand page. One (Inertia) carries a Health Canada Natural Product Number, a licensing requirement rather than a third-party test; the other (OrganiMAXX) states no certification at all. Neither publishes independent heavy-metal testing, the marker this category needs most. The full ladder for the wider catalog, including how those registries were checked, is on the third-party-tested page.
Price check · Tongkat Ali
What Tongkat Ali actually costs across the brands we track
Method: the 2 Tongkat Ali products in our catalogue, each priced at its own labelled serving rather than by pack size, across 2 brands. How we price.
The only number that matters is the one most labels leave out
The number that matters is the eurycomanone percentage, the share of the extract that is the main active compound, and most labels leave it out. Research on tongkat ali is limited and mostly small. A meta-analysis of trials using Eurycoma longifolia as a sole intervention measured hormone levels in men (PMID 36013514), and a four-week trial in 63 moderately stressed adults measured stress and hormone markers (PMID 23705671). Note the word that trial uses about its material: properly standardised.
That is the whole ballgame. Tongkat ali root is not the active; the quassinoids in it are, and eurycomanone is the one that gets measured. A capsule of unstandardised root powder and a capsule standardised to 10% eurycomanone are different products wearing the same name, and only one of them resembles what the trials used.
What each product on this page actually delivers
Neither tongkat ali product sold in Canada right now states a eurycomanone percentage, so the active dose cannot be worked out for either, only the raw extract weight can be compared, and raw extract weight is exactly the number this page keeps warning you not to trust.
| Product | Extract per serving | Standardised to | Eurycomanone per serving | Cost/day | Cost per mg eurycomanone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inertia Supplements Tongkat Ali 600 mg (100:1 Extract) | 600 mg | not stated | unknown | $0.27 | cannot compute |
| OrganiMAXX 6X Strength Tongkat Ali 600 mg | 600 mg | not stated | unknown | $0.25 | cannot compute |
Neither product here lets you price the active ingredient. Both are sold by extract weight (600mg) rather than by a disclosed eurycomanone percentage, so the cost-per-day column above and the "cannot compute" column in the table are the most you can honestly compare, until a product with a disclosed percentage reaches this market.
Why “200:1 extract” is not a potency claim
A ratio like 200:1 describes how much raw root went into the extraction, not how much of anything useful came out. It is a manufacturing statistic. Two 200:1 extracts can contain very different amounts of eurycomanone depending on the solvent, the plant material and the part of the root used, and neither is obliged to tell you. A big ratio on the front of a bottle reads like strength and carries no commitment.
The same applies to a bare milligram figure. 1,000 mg of unstandardised extract can contain less eurycomanone than 100 mg standardised to 10%, ten times the label number, potentially a fraction of the active. If a product does not name a percentage, you are buying on trust rather than on content.
Who the evidence is actually about
The meta-analysis is worth reading closely rather than quoting. It screened nine studies and pooled five randomised trials, in a mix of healthy volunteers and men with a clinical diagnosis. The interval around the pooled result is wide, which is what five small trials with different populations produces, and the authors conclude that more research is needed before clinical use (PMID 36013514).
So these results are not a reason to buy on their own. Tongkat ali acts on hormones; talk to your doctor first if you have a hormone-related condition or take hormone medication.
What to expect, and when
The stress trial ran four weeks and measured salivary cortisol and other hormone markers in 63 moderately stressed men and women (PMID 23705671). Nothing here supports a same-week effect, and the outcomes measured were lab markers rather than how anyone felt, which is a weaker thing than the marketing implies.
Dependence on the preparation used is the thread running through everything above: the trials used standardised extracts, so the evidence only transfers to a product that is standardised too.
Do you need to cycle it?
This is the most common question about tongkat ali and the honest answer is that nobody has tested it. The trials cited on this page dosed continuously, four weeks in the stress study, and the pooled randomised trials ran their own fixed courses without a washout arm. No study has compared continuous use against five-days-on, two-days-off, or eight weeks on and two off, which means every cycling schedule you will read is somebody's reasoning rather than somebody's result.
What that leaves is a practical position rather than an evidence-based one: there is no demonstrated tolerance effect to cycle around, and no demonstrated harm from continuous use over the durations studied, but those durations are short. If you are going to take it for months rather than weeks, that is beyond where the trials go, and a periodic break plus a conversation with your doctor is a reasonable hedge against an unknown rather than something with evidence behind it.
Why third-party testing earns its premium here specifically
On most supplements, third-party testing verifies identity and purity, useful, but not central to the buying decision. On tongkat ali it verifies the number the whole decision rests on. A label claiming 10% eurycomanone is making a quantitative claim about the active compound, and HPTLC analysis is one way to check that claim. Only the brand's own word says it was done; we did not find these products in a public registry.
Neither product above carries HPTLC testing or Informed Sport certification. One carries a Health Canada Natural Product Number, which means Health Canada has licensed it as a natural health product, a different guarantee from third-party testing, and not a claim about heavy-metal content specifically. Until a tongkat ali with disclosed eurycomanone and independent heavy-metal testing is sold here, that gap is the honest state of this market, not a claim this page can paper over.
What to do with that
Buy a product that states a eurycomanone percentage when one becomes available here; until then, the Health Canada NPN on the Inertia product is the only independent check either Canadian option currently carries, and it is a licensing check rather than a heavy-metal test. The trials above measured outcomes at four weeks, not at four days.
Buying tongkat ali on Amazon.ca: the listings on this page
These are the 2 Amazon.ca listings behind this page, identified by ASIN so you land on the same container we priced. Each cost is the Amazon.ca price we saw on 2026-09-20, divided by the label serving count. Prices change; check the price on Amazon.ca before you buy. Cheapest per day: OrganiMAXX 6X Strength Tongkat Ali 600 mg at $0.25.
| Listing | ASIN | Price | Cost per day | Verification | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OrganiMAXX 6X Strength Tongkat Ali 600 mg | B0D3SJXZQH | $29.99 | $0.25 | not checked | Check price → |
| Inertia Supplements Tongkat Ali 600 mg | B0DQNHWT9H | $31.99 | $0.27 | not checked | Check price → |
Three checks on the Amazon.ca listing itself
- Who is selling it. The “Sold by” line should read the brand, Amazon, or the brand’s named distributor.
- The lot and the expiry on arrival. For a product with a certificate lookup or a registry listing, the lot number on the container is what you check, not the listing. A lot older than the certificate date, or an expiry inside a year, is a reason to return it.
- The serving count, not the piece count. The per-day figures above use the label’s serving; a listing that says “240 count” at two pieces a serving is 120 days, so compare cost per serving rather than cost per piece.
Product links go to Amazon and we may earn a commission if you buy. It never changes which product we pick or what we say about it. How we choose.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best tongkat ali supplement?
Neither tongkat ali product sold in Canada discloses a eurycomanone percentage or publishes third-party heavy-metal testing, two things worth checking on a tongkat ali label. Between the two: Inertia Supplements states its extract ratio (100:1) and carries a Health Canada NPN; OrganiMAXX is a little cheaper per day but states no ratio and no certification.
What does eurycomanone % mean?
Eurycomanone is the main active; a stated % tells you what the label claims per serving (not independently checked) and lets you compare to studied doses. "200:1" or "100:1" describes concentration, not active content, disclosed eurycomanone is the better marker, and neither product sold in Canada states one right now.
How much should I take?
200-400mg/day of standardized root extract; 400mg is the most-studied dose. Both Canadian-catalog products are dosed at 600mg per capsule of unstandardized extract, above the studied range in raw milligrams but without a known active content. Give it 4-12 weeks.
Is it safe?
Side effects in the studies at these doses were generally mild, over a few months. Main concerns: heavy-metal contamination (hence testing) and unestablished long-term safety. Don't pair with unproven, potentially toxic add-ins like fadogia. Full rundown: tongkat ali side effects.
Related guides
- Tongkat Ali vs Fadogia Agrestis: why combining them is risky
- Tongkat Ali Side Effects: insomnia and the mercury-contamination risk, in full
- All Tongkat Ali Products
Sources
- Leisegang K, et al. "Eurycoma longifolia (Jack) Improves Serum Total … in Men: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis." Medicina (Kaunas). 2022;58(8). PMID: 36013514
- Talbott SM, et al. "Effect of Tongkat Ali on stress hormones and psychological mood state in moderately stressed subjects." J Int Soc Sports Nutr. 2013;10(1):28. PMID: 23705671