Best Rhodiola Supplement 2026: Ranked by Rosavins & Cost
With rhodiola, "best" means "the rosavins are disclosed" — not cheapest. Rosavins are the Rhodiola rosea species marker, and published surveys report species substitution in some rhodiola products. So we rank by disclosed rosavin standardization first (the genuine ~3% rosavins / 1% salidroside), then by cost per verified mg of rosavins. Of 11 products, only 6 disclose the studied 3:1 rosavin spec; 4 do not state rosavins in a way we could compute (salidroside-forward, ratio-only, sub-potency, or inconsistent between listing and COA). Best overall: NOW Foods.
Informational summary — not medical advice. This page ranks product verifiability & value; on what the research says about rhodiola, see the hub. Avoid supplemental rhodiola in pregnancy and breastfeeding.
Ranked by disclosed rosavin standardization, then cost per mg of rosavins, never commissions.
The one-line takeaway Don't shop rhodiola on the milligram number. Across every product whose rosavins are actually disclosed, NOW Foods delivers rosavins most cheaply ($0.028/mg). A disclosed 3%-rosavin extract can be compared on cost per mg of rosavins; a higher-milligram "rhodiola extract" that never states its rosavin content cannot.
The awards
The rosavin-standard extract with the most rosavins per dollar: 3% rosavins / 1% salidroside min, delivering 15 mg of rosavins per serving at $0.028 per mg of rosavins — the lowest here. Discloses a 3:1 spec, so you can compare what the label states.
The cheapest disclosed 3% rosavin extract per day at $0.23/day. A smaller 250 mg dose, and it discloses the spec.
Discloses 3% rosavins / 1% salidroside and lists a per-lot certificate of analysis, the most batch-level documentation here. Costs a little more per day.
The listing says NSF Certified for Sport, at 3% rosavins / 2% salidroside; we did not find it in a public registry. A 100 mg dose, so cost per mg of rosavins is higher.
Every product compared: rosavin standardization & cost
Sorted rosavin-standard disclosers first, then by cost per mg of rosavins — not by price. Read the standardization column, not the extract milligrams. Where a product doesn't disclose its rosavin content, the cost per mg of rosavins is shown as “—” (incomputable) — cost per mg of rosavins cannot be computed without a rosavin figure on the label. Full data is a public CC BY JSON file.
| Brand | Extract | Standardization | Verdict | $ / day | $ / mg rosavins |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NOW Foods NOW Rhodiola 500 mg | 500 mg | 3% rosavins / 1% salidroside min (3:1, disclosed) | Rosavin-standard 3:1 | $0.42 | $0.028 |
| Life Extension Rhodiola Extract 250 mg | 250 mg | 3% rosavins / NLT 1% salidroside (3:1, disclosed) | Rosavin-standard 3:1 | $0.23 | $0.031 |
| Nootropics Depot Rhodiola Rosea 500 mg (3% Rosavins) | 500 mg | 3% rosavins / 1% salidroside (3:1, disclosed) + published per-lot COA | Rosavin-standard 3:1 | $0.52 | $0.035 |
| Pure Encapsulations Rhodiola Rosea 100 mg | 100 mg | 3% rosavins / 1% salidroside (3:1, disclosed) | Rosavin-standard 3:1 | $0.26 | $0.087 |
| Momentous Rhodiola Rosea 100 mg | 100 mg | 3% rosavins / 2% salidroside (disclosed) + NSF Certified for Sport | Rosavin-standard 3:1 | $0.33 | $0.110 |
| Thorne Rhodiola 100 mg | 100 mg | 3% rosavins / 1% salidroside (3:1, disclosed) | Rosavin-standard 3:1 | $0.40 | $0.133 |
| Bronson Rhodiola Rosea 1000 mg | 1000 mg | 0.5% rosavins (well below the ~3% benchmark); salidroside not disclosed | Sub-potency ⚠ | $0.17 | $0.034 |
| Gaia Herbs Rhodiola Rosea | 120 mg | 6 mg rosavins per serving (mg-only, no %); salidroside not disclosed | Rosavin mg-only | $0.41 | $0.068 |
| Double Wood Rhodiola Rosea 500 mg | 500 mg | Self-contradictory label: listing says 3% salidroside / 1% rosavins; the COA implies 3% rosavins / 1% salidroside | Contradictory ⚠ | $0.16 | — |
| Zazzee Organic Rhodiola 10:1 Extract | 300 mg | 10:1 extract ratio only; rosavin/salidroside % NOT disclosed | Ratio-only ⚠ | $0.24 | — |
| Toniiq Triple-Strength Rhodiola 600 mg | 600 mg | 5% salidroside; rosavins NOT disclosed (salidroside-forward — substitution red flag) | Salidroside-forward ⚠ | $0.42 | — |
Prices are catalog figures, July 2026; they change. Cost per day = price ÷ servings (1 serving = 1 day at the labeled dose). Cost per mg rosavins = cost/day ÷ (extract mg × disclosed rosavin %); shown as “—” where rosavins aren't disclosed. The genuine R. rosea spec is ~3% rosavins / 1% salidroside — see is your rhodiola real?
Products without a computable rosavin figure
For these 4 products, the listing does not state rosavins in a way that lets us compute cost per mg of rosavins:
- Toniiq Triple-Strength 600 mg — salidroside only. The listing states 5% salidroside and no rosavins. Salidroside is also found in other Rhodiola species, so the listing does not let you check the species. It links a COA.
- Zazzee Organic 10:1 — ratio only. The listing states a "10:1" extract ratio and no rosavin figure. A ratio describes concentration, not standardization.
- Double Wood 500 mg — listing and COA differ. The listing states 3% salidroside / 1% rosavins, while the COA we read implies 3% rosavins / 1% salidroside. We could not tell which figure applies, so we did not compute a cost per mg of rosavins.
- Bronson 1,000 mg — lower rosavin %. The listing states 0.5% rosavins, below the ~3% spec used in this comparison. A 1,000 mg serving delivers about 5 mg of rosavins, about a third of a 500 mg serving at 3%.
Gaia Herbs is a borderline case: it discloses rosavins in milligrams (6 mg/serving) but no percentage, so it's computable but partial — ranked among the disclosers, not the flagged.
Verification check · Rhodiola
What we could and could not verify about Rhodiola
1 of the 11 is confirmed in NSF/ANSI 173: Thorne Rhodiola 100 mg. The other 10 products we track are not listed in any registry we checked. That means nobody independent has confirmed them; it is not evidence against them.
Method: our Rhodiola roster matched against the full public registries of third-party-certified supplements in the US, NSF/ANSI 173, USP Verified and Informed Sport, 5,317 listings, retrieved 2026-08-25. Absence means nobody independent has checked that Rhodiola product, not that it failed. Full method and limitations.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best rhodiola supplement?
One that discloses a ~3% rosavins / 1% salidroside spec. Ranking by that first, then cost per mg of rosavins: NOW Rhodiola 500 mg has the most rosavins per dollar; Life Extension 250 mg is the lowest cost per day among disclosed products; Nootropics Depot lists a per-lot COA, and the Momentous listing says NSF Certified for Sport (we did not find it in a public registry). Cheapest ≠ best.
Does more milligrams mean a stronger rhodiola?
No. A 1,000 mg root at 0.5% rosavins delivers ~5 mg of rosavins; a 500 mg extract at 3% delivers ~15 mg. Compare disclosed rosavin content first, then milligrams, then price.
Why are salidroside-only labels ranked lower?
Salidroside is not species-specific; it is also found in other Rhodiola species. A label that lists salidroside but no rosavins does not let you check the species, so its cost per mg of rosavins cannot be computed.
Does a COA settle what is in the bottle?
Not by itself. A published COA is only as useful as what it reports and whether it matches the label. Read what it states for rosavins and salidroside.
Related
- Rhodiola: what it is & who it's for
- Is your rhodiola real? — rosavins vs salidroside and the species-substitution problem
- Rhodiola dosage guide — dose by goal + a rosavin cost calculator
- What the research says about rhodiola
Sources
- Manufacturer labels/COAs and catalog pricing for all listed products, July 2026. Full dataset: /rhodiola/cost-by-brand.json (CC BY 4.0).
- Booker A, et al. "The authenticity and quality of Rhodiola rosea products." Phytomedicine. 2016. PMID: 26626192 (rosavin-authenticity basis for the ranking).
- Xin T, et al. "Survey of commercial Rhodiola products revealed species diversity and potential safety issues." Sci Rep. 2015. PMID: 25661009 (species-substitution basis).