Cod Liver Oil Dosage: EPA/DHA You Get vs the Vitamin A Limit
The honest answer
The binding constraint on cod liver oil dosing is vitamin A, not omega-3 — you can't titrate the two independently in a fixed-ratio product. The adult vitamin A upper limit (UL) is 3000mcg RAE (10000 IU)/day. The lowest disclosed serving in this category is 8.5% of the UL (Carlson's liquid oil). A daily multivitamin commonly adds another 250-900mcg RAE on its own — stack the two and you can approach the UL before anyone intended to.
Educational summary — not medical advice. Preformed vitamin A has an upper limit. If you are pregnant or planning pregnancy, ask a clinician about vitamin A before starting. This statement has not been evaluated by the FDA. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
Why "how much omega-3" is the wrong first question
With a standalone fish oil supplement, wanting more EPA/DHA just means taking a bigger dose. Cod liver oil doesn't work that way: every extra teaspoon or softgel brings its fixed share of preformed vitamin A and vitamin D along with the omega-3, in whatever ratio the fish liver naturally provides. That means the real dosing question for cod liver oil is "how much vitamin A does my omega-3 target require me to also take" — and whether that number, combined with everything else in your diet and supplement stack, stays under the 3000mcg RAE UL. There is no standard dose for cod liver oil; check the label numbers and ask your clinician what fits you.
| Product | Serving | Vitamin A | % of 3000mcg UL |
|---|---|---|---|
| Carlson liquid (both sizes) | 1 tsp (5mL) | 255mcg RAE (850 IU) | 8.5% |
| Nordic Naturals, NOW Foods (both) | — | Not disclosed | Not stated |
Vitamin A ceiling checker: cod liver oil + multivitamin
Enter the vitamin A (mcg RAE) per cod-liver-oil serving from your label, how many servings you take per day, and — if you also take a daily multivitamin — its vitamin A figure. If your label only states IU, divide by roughly 3.3 to get mcg RAE for preformed vitamin A.
How to think about dosing this category
- Prefer a product that states vitamin A as a number. "Excellent source of vitamins A and D" cannot be checked against the UL. See best cod liver oil for the products that actually disclose it.
- Add your multivitamin's vitamin A to the total, every time. A typical multivitamin supplies 250-900mcg RAE of preformed vitamin A on its own — cod liver oil is rarely the only source in your day.
- Vitamin D content is a separate, smaller-magnitude question. It varies widely by brand and isn't reliably close to its own upper limit at normal serving sizes in this comparison — don't conflate the vitamin A risk with a vitamin D risk; they aren't the same size problem here.
Picks that let you do this math
Full ranking, including the vitamin-A-disclosure tiers, is on best cod liver oil.
255mcg RAE vitamin A (8.5% of the UL) and 400 IU vitamin D per teaspoon — a real, checkable number.
Of 4 products tracked; ranked by vitamin A disclosure, never commissions.
Price check · Cod Liver Oil
What Cod Liver Oil actually costs across the brands we track
What you pay. The 4 Cod Liver Oil products here run $0.06 to $0.72 a day across 3 brands, a 12× gap. Some of these state a certification on the listing itself. That is a weaker claim than a certifier confirming it: a listing repeats what the brand says, and a registry entry shows what a certifier has checked.
Method: the 4 Cod Liver Oil products in our catalogue, each priced at its own labeled serving rather than by pack size, across 3 brands. How we price.
Frequently asked questions
How much cod liver oil should I take per day?
There is no single settled dose. The question that matters is how much vitamin A a serving contains, because vitamin A has an upper limit. Ask your clinician what fits you.
What is the vitamin A upper limit, and how close does cod liver oil get?
3000mcg RAE (10000 IU)/day for adults. The lowest disclosed serving here is 8.5% of that; a multivitamin can add 250-900mcg RAE more.
Can I take cod liver oil with a multivitamin?
Add the vitamin A from both and compare the total with the upper limit. Use the calculator above with your specific products, and ask your clinician if you are unsure.
Related
- Cod liver oil: what it is & who it's for
- Best cod liver oil — ranked by vitamin A disclosure
- Vitamin D dosage guide — if you want vitamin D dosed precisely instead
Sources
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements — Vitamin A fact sheet (3000mcg RAE/day adult upper limit, preformed vitamin A).
- Full product dataset: /cod-liver-oil/cost-by-brand.json (CC BY 4.0).