Best SAD Lamps (2026): Lux at a Real Distance, and Vitamin D
Not medical advice. This summarizes the randomized trials of bright light for seasonal and nonseasonal depression, the physics of vitamin D synthesis, what 71 lamp listings claim, and current Amazon prices. Depression is a clinical diagnosis; if you have bipolar disorder or an eye condition, use light therapy only with a clinician.
Quick answer
A SAD lamp gives you no vitamin D, and it does not need to: bright light treats winter depression through your eyes, at a dose most lamps only deliver if you sit closer than the box implies. The trial dose is 10,000 lux at the eye for 30 minutes each morning; at that dose, light matched fluoxetine in a 96-patient trial (67% response in both arms) and beat placebo in nonseasonal depression. Skin makes vitamin D only from UVB (290–315 nm), and 81.7% of the 71 lamp listings we read advertise that they emit none.
Buy a lamp that states the distance its 10,000 lux applies at. Carex Day-Light Classic Plus (12 in, $130.19) and Northern Light Technologies LiteUp (14 in, $225.00) do; the best-selling tablet panels say “up to 10,000 lux” with no distance. If your 25(OH)D is low, that is a separate problem with a separate fix. See the listing census →
On this page
The vitamin D question: a SAD lamp makes none
People search for these lamps as “vitamin D lamps” because both are about winter, and the shelf does not correct them: only 1.4% of the 71 listings we read mention vitamin D. The physiology is simple. Skin makes vitamin D3 when ultraviolet B in the 290 to 315 nm band converts 7-dehydrocholesterol (Holick 2007, PMID 17634462). White LED light-therapy lamps emit visible light, and their makers filter or omit UV as a safety feature: 81.7% of listings advertise “UV-free” or a UV filter. A 10,000-lux panel therefore raises your 25(OH)D by exactly nothing, however long you sit at it. It works on a different system, the retina and the circadian clock, and that is the system the trials below measured. If a winter blood test put you low, the dosage guide and the 5,000 IU page cover the fix; if winter puts your mood low, keep reading.
What the trials found: light works, at the antidepressant scale
The randomized evidence is older than most supplement evidence and stronger. A meta-analysis of the controlled trials found bright light treatment for seasonal affective disorder carried an effect size of 0.84 (95% CI 0.6 to 1.08, 8 studies) and bright light for nonseasonal depression 0.53, effects the authors describe as equivalent to those in most antidepressant drug trials (Golden 2005, PMID 15800134). The head-to-head is the Can-SAD trial: 96 patients with winter depression, randomized double-blind to 10,000 lux for 30 minutes each morning plus a placebo pill, or a 100-lux placebo box plus fluoxetine 20 mg, for 8 weeks. Response was 67% in both arms, remission was similar, the light group improved faster in week one, and fluoxetine caused more agitation, sleep disturbance and palpitations (Lam 2006, PMID 16648320). In nonseasonal major depression the same group ran a four-arm trial in 122 adults: MADRS improvement was 13.4 points with light alone, 8.8 with fluoxetine alone, 16.9 with both and 6.5 with placebo; light and the combination beat placebo, fluoxetine alone did not (Lam 2016, PMID 26580307).
Lux, distance and minutes: the number on the box is a number at a distance
The two head-to-head trials above used 10,000 lux measured at the eye for 30 minutes in the early morning, and the standard protocol review puts the dose there, with individual adjustment of timing and duration (Terman 2005, PMID 16041296). Lux falls off steeply with distance, so a lamp’s “10,000 lux” is only meaningful with the distance it was measured at. The clinical boxes state it: Carex Day-Light Classic Plus at 12 in, Circadian Optics Langham Clinical at 12 in, Northern Light Technologies LiteUp at 14 in, roughly where your face sits at a desk. The compact tablet lamps that dominate the best-seller lists state “up to 10,000 lux” and no distance, so you cannot know from the listing how close you must sit to reach the trial dose. The honest adjustment is to sit close and use it longer.
We read 71 lamp listings: everyone claims the lux, almost nobody states the distance
Original research71 light-therapy lamp listings from 39 brands, the first three result pages on Amazon.com for 8 lamp searches on 2026-09-19, deduplicated and read (title and feature bullets). Median price $46.85. A listing census measures what sellers claim, not what a lamp delivers.
81.7% of listings advertise UV-free or UV-filtered light, 71.8% a timer, and 0% make any FDA claim. Nearly every listing claims 10,000 lux (the exact share did not agree between halves of the shelf, so we do not print it), and the listings that also state a distance are a handful (the share did not agree between halves of the shelf either, so we do not print it). Among the lamps we track, Carex Day-Light Classic Plus, Circadian Optics Langham Clinical and Northern Light Technologies LiteUp state one on their listings, against dozens on the shelf that say “up to 10,000 lux” or just “10,000 lux” with nothing after it. That is the whole buying problem in one line. The FDA lookup confirms the category’s status: of the five lamp makers on this page (Verilux, Carex, Circadian Optics, Northern Light Technologies, Sperti), none has a 510(k) for a light box (Verilux's only record is a 2010 acne phototherapy device); these are general wellness products, which is why the trials, not a clearance, are the evidence.
| Item | Value (%) |
|---|---|
| Advertises UV-free | 81.7% |
| Has a timer | 71.8% |
| Mentions vitamin D | 1.4% |
| Makes an FDA claim | 0% |
How we read the listings, and what did not hold
Method: 71 listings returned by Amazon’s catalog API for the queries "light therapy lamp 10000 lux", "sad lamp", "happy light", "bright light therapy lamp", "sun lamp for seasonal depression", "light therapy box", "daylight lamp therapy", "sunrise lamp light therapy 10000 lux" on 2026-09-19, three result pages each, deduplicated by ASIN and filtered to light-therapy lamps. Each flag is a pattern match on the title and feature bullets. Every share was recomputed in two halves of the shelf split by ASIN parity: 4 of 8 agreed within 8 points and only those are printed. Not printed (4): claims_10000_lux; states_distance; says_up_to; among_10000_claimants_states_distance. The distance-stated flag is a pattern match that also catches placement instructions, and it failed split-half, so no distance count is printed; the three tracked lamps that state a distance were read by hand from their listings. FDA records are from the openFDA 510(k) database on 2026-09-19 for Verilux, Carex, Circadian Optics, Northern Light Technologies and Sperti. What it cannot tell you: the lux any lamp actually delivers at your desk; we did not meter the lamps.
Which SAD lamp to buy
Product links go to Amazon and we may earn a commission if you buy. It never changes which product we pick or what we say about it. How we choose.
| Lamp | Buy | 10,000 lux stated at | Form | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carex Day-Light Classic Plus | Check price | 12 in | floor/desk box, 12 in | $130.19 |
| Carex Day-Light Sky | Check price | 12 in | arm box, 12 in | $139.99 |
| Circadian Optics Langham Clinical | Check price | 12 in | panel, 12 in | $149.99 |
| Northern Light Technologies LiteUp | Check price | 14 in | large box, 14 in | $225.00 |
| Verilux HappyLight Lucent | Check price | not stated ("up to") | tablet panel, distance not stated | $39.99 |
| Verilux HappyLight Lumi Plus | Check price | not stated ("up to") | tablet panel, distance not stated | $42.99 |
| Circadian Optics Lumos | Check price | not stated ("up to") | desk lamp, distance not stated | $69.99 |
| Verilux HappyLight Luxe | Check price | not stated ("up to") | tablet panel, distance not stated | $69.99 |
UVB lamps: the only lamp that raises vitamin D, and why we do not rank them
A different class of device does make vitamin D: UVB sunlamps, which emit the 290 to 315 nm band that skin uses. The FDA regulates those as sunlamp products, and the best-known vitamin D lamp maker’s record in the 510(k) database is filed under exactly that category (Sperti: FIJI SUN FLUORESCENT TANNING UNIT, 2018). They cost several times a light box, they are sold direct rather than on Amazon, and they carry the skin risks of UVB, which is why we do not rank them here. For most people the cheaper and safer route to a normal 25(OH)D is a supplement at the right dose and a blood test to confirm it.
Frequently asked questions
Do SAD lamps give you vitamin D?
No. Skin makes vitamin D from ultraviolet B at 290 to 315 nm, and every light-therapy lamp on this page is built to emit none of it: 81.7% of the 71 listings we read advertise "UV-free" as a feature. A 10,000-lux white LED panel changes your mood and your body clock through your eyes; it does not change your 25(OH)D. Only 1.4% of listings mention vitamin D at all. If your blood level is low, the fixes are sun, food and a supplement (see the dosage guide), not a lamp; the only lamps that raise vitamin D are UVB sunlamps, which are tanning-class devices.
What is the best SAD lamp?
The one that states the distance its 10,000 lux applies at, because the trial dose is 10,000 lux at the eye for 30 minutes and a lamp that only reaches that number an inch from the panel is not delivering it at your desk. Carex Day-Light Classic Plus states 12 in at $130.19; Circadian Optics Langham Clinical states 12 in at $149.99; Northern Light Technologies LiteUp states 14 in at $225.00. The best-selling tablet-style lamps (Verilux HappyLight Lucent, Verilux HappyLight Luxe) say "up to 10,000 lux" and no distance, and cost about a third as much; if you buy one, sit close and use it longer.
Does light therapy actually work for seasonal depression?
Yes, with effect sizes in the antidepressant range. A meta-analysis of randomized trials found bright light for seasonal affective disorder had an effect size of 0.84 (8 studies), and bright light for nonseasonal depression 0.53. The Can-SAD trial randomized 96 patients with winter depression to 10,000 lux for 30 minutes each morning or fluoxetine 20 mg for 8 weeks: response was 67% in both arms, and the light group improved faster with fewer side effects. In nonseasonal major depression, light alone and light plus fluoxetine beat placebo; fluoxetine alone did not.
How long should you sit in front of a SAD lamp?
The trial protocol is 30 minutes at 10,000 lux, early in the morning, eyes open but not staring, at the distance the lamp is rated for. Lower-lux exposure needs proportionally longer sessions. Effects in trials appear within one to two weeks. Evening use can disturb sleep, and people with bipolar disorder should use light only with a clinician because it can trigger hypomania.
Is 10,000 lux safe for your eyes?
The lamps sold for this purpose filter UV (81.7% of listings say so) and the trials report a favorable side-effect profile: eyestrain, headache and nausea in a minority, usually early and transient. People with retinal disease, or on photosensitizing drugs (some antibiotics, retinoids, lithium, St John's wort), should ask an ophthalmologist first. No lamp on this page is an FDA-regulated medical device; 0% of listings make an FDA claim, which is correct, because bright light boxes are sold as general wellness products.
Related guides
- Vitamin D: what to buy and how much
- Vitamin D dosage guide
- Vitamin D3 5000 IU: who needs it
- Vitamin D deficiency signs
- The 25(OH)D blood test
- Red light therapy for skin: the devices with a 510(k)
- Anxiety and depression: what the evidence supports
Sources
- Golden RN, et al. “The efficacy of light therapy in the treatment of mood disorders: a review and meta-analysis of the evidence.” Am J Psychiatry. 2005. PMID: 15800134
- Lam RW, et al. “The Can-SAD study: a randomized controlled trial of the effectiveness of light therapy and fluoxetine in patients with winter seasonal affective disorder.” Am J Psychiatry. 2006. PMID: 16648320
- Lam RW, et al. “Efficacy of Bright Light Treatment, Fluoxetine, and the Combination in Patients With Nonseasonal Major Depressive Disorder: A Randomized Clinical Trial.” JAMA Psychiatry. 2016. PMID: 26580307
- Terman M, Terman JS. “Light therapy for seasonal and nonseasonal depression: efficacy, protocol, safety, and side effects.” CNS Spectr. 2005. PMID: 16041296
- Holick MF. “Vitamin D deficiency.” N Engl J Med. 2007. PMID: 17634462
- US FDA. 510(k) premarket notification database (openFDA), queried 2026-09-19. open.fda.gov
- Amazon.com listing census, 71 light-therapy lamp listings, 2026-09-19 (our data; open, CC BY 4.0).