Verified Supplement Data Primary-sourced
UK edition — buy links go to Amazon.co.uk; products and prices shown are our US catalogue in USD until UK pricing is live. US edition →

Best Fish Oil in the UK (2026): Ranked by Cost per 2,000 mg EPA+DHA

By Erin Rose · Updated · Methodology · About Us

Not medical advice. Fish oil at gram doses thins the blood slightly; tell your doctor before surgery or if you take an anticoagulant. Prices are the current Amazon price divided by the label’s servings; IFOS status is read from the certifier’s own pages.

Prices and cost per day here are from our US catalogue in USD. UK prices differ, use them to compare products with each other, not to budget in pounds. Buy buttons open the product on Amazon.co.uk; where a brand is not sold in the UK, the button opens an Amazon.co.uk search instead of a dead page.

Best value:Sports Research Triple Strength Omega-3: $0.65/day for 2000mg EPA+DHA, triglyceride form, IFOS 5-Star + MSC certified, burpless, 150 softgels.

Best budget:Viva Naturals Triple Strength Omega-3: $0.62/day, full 2000mg+ clinical dose in just 2 softgels. Re-esterified TG form, IFOS 5-Star. 180 softgels.

Best premium quality:Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega: $1.37/day, the #1 omega-3 in the US. Triglyceride form, IFOS 5-Star. 180 softgels, 90 servings.

Best vegan:Sports Research Vegan Omega-3: $0.46/day, 630mg combined EPA+DHA per softgel from algal oil. The only way to get both EPA and DHA without fish. Non-GMO Tested, Vegan Certified.

All Omega-3 Products Compared

Omega-3 fish oil supplements ranked by cost per day at 2000mg combined EPA+DHA clinical dose
ProductEPA+DHA/ServingEPADHAFormServingCountPriceCost/Day
(2000mg)
Certification (as labelled)Buy
NOW Foods Ultra Omega-3 (750mg EPA+DHA)750mg500mg250mgEthyl Ester (EE)1 softgel180$28.94$0.48NoneBuy
Viva Naturals Triple Strength Omega-3 (2500mg)
Budget Pick
2,070mg1500mg570mgrTG (re-esterified)2 softgels90$55.96$0.62IFOS 5-StarBuy
Sports Research Triple Strength Omega-3 (1250mg)
Best Value
950mg690mg260mgTriglyceride (TG)1 softgel90$29.33$0.65IFOS 5-Star, MSC CertifiedBuy
Carlson Elite Omega-3 Gems (1600mg Omega-3)1,400mg800mg600mgTriglyceride (TG)2 softgels65$42.42$0.93IFOS 5-StarBuy
Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega (1280mg Omega-3)
Quality Pick
1,100mg650mg450mgTriglyceride (TG)2 softgels90$62.00$1.37IFOS 5-StarBuy
Nordic Naturals Algae Omega (715mg Omega-3, Vegan)585mg0mg0mgAlgal TG2 softgels60$42.49$2.41Certified VeganBuy

Why the Form Matters More Than the Brand

The single most important factor when choosing a fish oil supplement is the molecular form. Triglyceride (TG) form is approximately 70% better absorbed than ethyl ester (EE) form (PMID: 20638827). Most cheap fish oils are ethyl ester, a synthetic intermediate that your body must convert back to triglyceride before use. That conversion is incomplete.

Every product we recommend (except the NOW Foods comparison) is in triglyceride or re-esterified triglyceride (rTG) form. Read our full TG vs EE comparison.

Triglyceride vs Ethyl Ester: Quick Comparison

Fish oil forms: triglyceride (TG) vs ethyl ester (EE), why it matters
FactorTriglyceride (TG / rTG)Ethyl Ester (EE)
Bioavailability~70% higherBaseline, body must reconvert to TG
Natural form?Yes, fish contain omega-3 as TGNo, synthetic intermediate
StabilityMore stable, less oxidation-proneLess stable, more rancidity risk
Fish burpsFewerMore common
Absorption without foodGoodSignificantly reduced
Cost per absorbed mgLower (despite higher bottle price)Higher (despite lower bottle price)
Our products using this formNordic Naturals, Carlson, Sports Research, Viva NaturalsNOW Foods Ultra Omega-3

For the full evidence breakdown: Triglyceride vs Ethyl Ester Fish Oil

How to Choose: Quick Decision Matrix

Which omega-3 to buy based on your situation
Your SituationOur PickCost/DayWhy
Best overall valueSports Research Triple Strength$0.65TG form, IFOS 5-Star, MSC sustainable, burpless. 150 softgels, 1 per day for maintenance.
Cheapest clinical doseViva Naturals Triple Strength$0.622070mg EPA+DHA in just 2 softgels. rTG form, IFOS certified. Full clinical dose at lowest cost.
Premium / most trusted brandNordic Naturals Ultimate Omega$1.37#1 omega-3 in US. TG form, IFOS 5-Star. Worth it if brand trust matters to you.
Highest EPA+DHA per servingViva Naturals Triple Strength$0.622070mg EPA+DHA per serving, fewest pills to reach clinical dose.
Heart health (REDUCE-IT dose)Viva Naturals Triple Strength$0.622 servings/day = 4140mg EPA+DHA. Closest to REDUCE-IT 4g/day protocol at reasonable cost.
Vegan / vegetarianSports Research Vegan Omega-3$0.46630mg combined EPA+DHA per softgel from algal oil. Only vegan source of both. EPA:DHA split not disclosed.
Budget-conscious (don't care about form)NOW Foods Ultra Omega-3$0.48EE form (lower absorption) but enteric coated, well-tested. 180 softgels. Note: effective dose is lower than label due to EE form.

Evidence: Why 2000mg EPA+DHA?

We rank by cost per 2000mg combined EPA+DHA because this is the dose range supported by major clinical trials for cardiovascular and anti-inflammatory benefit:

  • REDUCE-IT trial (2019): 8,179 patients, 4g/day icosapent ethyl (pure EPA). 25% relative risk reduction in cardiovascular events. The landmark trial that changed cardiology guidelines. (PMID: 30415628)
  • VITAL trial (2019): 25,871 participants, 1g/day omega-3. Modest benefit for heart attack prevention, especially in those with low fish intake. Suggests 1g/day is the minimum, not the optimal dose. (PMID: 30415637)
  • Cochrane meta-analysis (2020): 86 RCTs, 162,796 participants. Found high-certainty evidence that omega-3 supplementation slightly reduces coronary heart disease mortality and events, with dose-response suggesting benefit increases up to 2-4g/day. (PMID: 32114706)
  • Depression meta-analysis (2019): 26 RCTs. EPA-dominant formulations at 1-2g/day showed significant benefit for major depressive disorder. DHA-dominant formulations did not.

The American Heart Association recommends 1g/day for general cardiovascular health, but the clinical trial evidence increasingly supports 2-4g/day for meaningful benefit. We use 2000mg as the middle ground, clinically effective without being impractically expensive.

Fish oil has a certification problem the usual checks miss

For most supplements, verifying a product means looking it up in the NSF, USP or Informed Sport registries. We ran every product in our catalogue against all 5,317 of those listings. For fish oil specifically, that check has a hole in it.

Of the 6 omega-3 products we track, 1 appears in those registries. But 4 products in the wider catalogue carry an IFOS rating, the International Fish Oil Standards programme, and 3 of them are not in the three registries at all. That is not evidence those claims are false. It is evidence that the certifier most specific to this category is not one the standard net catches.

IFOS matters here in a way general certification does not, because it tests the things that actually go wrong with fish oil: oxidation (rancidity), PCBs, dioxins and heavy metals. An NSF listing tells you a product contains what it says and is free of banned substances. It does not tell you the oil has not gone off, and rancid fish oil is the most common quality failure in this category.

Counting IFOS as verification would move the whole catalogue's certified share from 7.5% to only 7.9%, a difference of 0.4 percentage points across 730 products. So it barely changes the sitewide picture, and it substantially changes this page's: on fish oil, an IFOS 5-Star rating is the more relevant signal, and four of the products ranked above carry one.

Method: every catalogue product matched against the complete public registries of third-party-certified supplements in the United States, NSF/ANSI 173 (3,053 listings), USP Verified (159) and Informed Sport/Choice (2,105), 5,317 in total, retrieved 2026-08-25. Sample: 730 products, 6 of them omega-3. What it cannot tell you: whether an IFOS rating is current. IFOS certifies by batch and we did not re-verify individual lot numbers, so treat the rating as a claim the manufacturer is making about a batch rather than a standing property of the product.

What to Look For (and Avoid)

1. Always Check the Actual EPA+DHA, Not "Fish Oil" Amount

A label saying "1,200mg Fish Oil" might contain only 360mg EPA+DHA. The rest is other fats your body doesn't need. Always look at the Supplement Facts panel for the individual EPA and DHA amounts, then add them together.

2. Choose Triglyceride Form Over Ethyl Ester

If the label says "fish oil concentrate" without specifying the form, it is almost certainly ethyl ester. Look for "triglyceride form," "TG form," or "re-esterified triglyceride." All four fish oil products we recommend use TG/rTG form. Full TG vs EE comparison.

3. Look for IFOS Certification

For fish oil specifically, IFOS (International Fish Oil Standards) is more important than USP or NSF. It tests for oxidation (freshness/rancidity), potency (label accuracy), and contaminants (mercury, PCBs, dioxins). An IFOS 5-Star rating means the product passed all tests at the highest standard. Four of our six products carry IFOS 5-Star certification.

4. Avoid These Common Mistakes

  • Buying the cheapest bottle: A $10 fish oil with 360mg EPA+DHA per softgel in ethyl ester form costs more per absorbed dose than a $30 bottle with 1000mg EPA+DHA in triglyceride form
  • Ignoring oxidation risk: Rancid fish oil is not just ineffective, it may be harmful. Buy IFOS-certified products and store them in a cool, dark place. If it smells strongly of fish, it may be oxidized.
  • Taking 1 softgel and calling it done: Most fish oils require 2-3 softgels to reach even 1000mg EPA+DHA. Check how many servings you actually need.

EPA vs DHA: Which Do You Need More Of?

EPA and DHA do different things. Your ideal ratio depends on your goal:

EPA vs DHA: match the ratio to your goal
GoalPreferred RatioBest Product Match
Anti-inflammatory / heart healthHigher EPAViva Naturals (EPA 1500mg, ~72% EPA)
Depression / moodEPA-dominant (≥60% EPA)Sports Research (EPA 690mg, ~73% EPA)
Brain & nervous system (structural)Higher DHANordic Naturals Algae Omega (DHA 390mg), note: DHA is structural, but supplements haven't improved cognition in healthy adults (the evidence)
Pregnancy / prenatalHigher DHA (300mg+ DHA)Nordic Naturals Algae Omega or dedicated prenatal DHA
General healthBalanced or EPA-leaningNordic Naturals Ultimate Omega (EPA 650mg + DHA 450mg)

Full details: EPA vs DHA: Which Omega-3 Do You Need?

Buying fish oil on Amazon: the exact listings we track

These are the 5Amazon listings behind this page, identified by ASIN so you land on the container we priced rather than a lookalike. Prices are the current buy-box price, verified 2026-09-20, divided by the label serving count. Cheapest per day: NOW Foods Ultra Omega-3 at $0.48. Cheapest with an independent certification listing: Viva Naturals Triple Strength Omega-3 at $0.62.

Fish oil listings on Amazon, cheapest per day first
ListingASINPriceCost per dayVerificationBuy
NOW Foods Ultra Omega-3B000SE5SY6$28.94$0.48Rung 4 · site blocked checkCheck price →
Viva Naturals Triple Strength Omega-3B014LDT0ZM$55.96$0.62Rung 1 · IFOS (SGS Nutrasource)Check price →
Sports Research Triple Strength Omega-3B07DX89ZHN$29.33$0.65Rung 1 · IFOS (SGS Nutrasource)Check price →
Carlson Elite Omega-3 GemsB081VWWGCZ$42.42$0.93Rung 1 · IFOS (SGS Nutrasource)Check price →
Nordic Naturals Ultimate OmegaB002CQU564$62.00$1.37Rung 2 · lot COACheck price →

Three checks on the Amazon listing itself

  1. Who is selling it. The “Sold by” line should read the brand, Amazon, or the brand’s named distributor. Amazon commingles inventory for many ASINs, so a third-party seller on a supplement listing is the one place a counterfeit or expired unit can enter.
  2. The lot and the expiry on arrival. For a product with a certificate lookup or a registry listing, the lot number on the container is what you check, not the listing. A lot older than the certificate date, or an expiry inside a year, is a reason to return it.
  3. The serving count, not the piece count. The per-day figures above use the label’s serving; a listing that says “240 count” at two pieces a serving is 120 days, and Amazon’s own “price per count” ignores that.

Product links go to Amazon and we may earn a commission if you buy. It never changes which product we pick or what we say about it. How we choose.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best fish oil supplement?

For best overall value: Sports Research Triple Strength (0.65/day, TG form, IFOS 5-Star, MSC certified). For cheapest clinical dose: Viva Naturals Triple Strength (0.62/day, 2070mg EPA+DHA per serving). For premium quality: Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega (1.37/day, #1 US omega-3). For vegan: Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 (0.46/day for 630mg combined EPA+DHA).

What is the difference between triglyceride and ethyl ester fish oil?

Triglyceride (TG) form is the natural form found in fish, approximately 70% better absorbed than ethyl ester (EE). EE is a cheaper synthetic intermediate created during concentration. Your body must convert EE back to TG before use, and that conversion is incomplete. TG is also more stable, causes fewer fish burps, and absorbs well without food. Most cheap fish oils are EE. Full comparison.

How much omega-3 should I take per day?

General health: 1,000mg combined EPA+DHA. Cardiovascular/inflammation: 2,000-4,000mg (based on REDUCE-IT trial and Cochrane reviews). Depression: 1,000-2,000mg EPA-dominant. Always check the Supplement Facts for actual EPA+DHA per serving, "1,200mg fish oil" usually means only 300-360mg EPA+DHA. EPA vs DHA guide.

What is IFOS certification?

IFOS (International Fish Oil Standards) is the gold standard for fish oil testing. It tests potency (does the label match?), oxidation (is the oil fresh or rancid?), and contaminants (mercury, PCBs, dioxins). An IFOS 5-Star rating means the product passed all tests at the highest level. It is more important for fish oil than USP or NSF because it specifically tests for fish-oil concerns like oxidation and heavy metals. Learn more.

Is vegan algae omega-3 as good as fish oil?

Algae oil provides the same EPA and DHA molecules, fish get their omega-3s from algae in the first place. The main downside is cost: algal oil runs several times the price per mg of EPA+DHA compared to fish oil. Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 delivers 630mg combined EPA+DHA per softgel for 0.46/day (the label does not disclose the EPA:DHA split); fish oil on this page runs 0.62-1.37/day for the full 2000mg clinical dose. Worth it if you are vegan or have a fish allergy.

Related Guides

Sources

  1. Dyerberg J, et al. "Bioavailability of marine n-3 fatty acid formulations." Prostaglandins Leukot Essent Fatty Acids. 2010;83(3):137-141. PMID: 20638827
  2. Bhatt DL, et al. "Cardiovascular Risk Reduction with Icosapent Ethyl for Hypertriglyceridemia (REDUCE-IT)." N Engl J Med. 2019;380(1):11-22. PMID: 30415628
  3. Manson JE, et al. "Marine n-3 Fatty Acids and Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease and Cancer (VITAL)." N Engl J Med. 2019;380(1):23-32. PMID: 30415637
  4. Abdelhamid AS, et al. "Omega-3 fatty acids for the primary and secondary prevention of cardiovascular disease." Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2020;3(3):CD003177. PMID: 32114706
  5. Liao Y, et al. "Efficacy of omega-3 PUFAs in depression: A meta-analysis." Transl Psychiatry. 2019;9(1):190.
  6. Neubronner J, et al. "Enhanced increase of omega-3 index in response to long-term n-3 fatty acid supplementation from triacylglycerides versus ethyl esters." Eur J Clin Nutr. 2011;65(2):247-254. PMID: 21063431
  7. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. "Omega-3 Fatty Acids: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals." ods.od.nih.gov