Best Lion's Mane in the UK 2026: Ranked by Disclosed Beta-Glucan
Informational summary, not medical advice. Lion's mane's cognitive benefits are early and unproven; this page ranks product quality, not effectiveness.
The best lion's mane isn't the biggest "mg" number, it's the one that tells you what's inside. We rank by disclosed beta-glucan (the active mushroom fibre) and real fruiting body (not mycelium grown on grain), and we note whether a brand publishes a lot-specific certificate of analysis. Top pick: Real Mushrooms Lion's Mane (120 Capsules), 100% fruiting body, states >30% beta-glucan, which is at least 300 mg of beta-glucan in its 1,000 mg serving. A reminder before you buy: lion's mane's benefits are promising but unproven, so buy a verified product and keep expectations modest.
Prices and cost per day here are from our US catalogue in USD. UK prices differ — use them to compare products with each other, not to budget in pounds. Buy buttons open the product on Amazon.co.uk; where a brand is not sold in the UK, the button opens an Amazon.co.uk search instead of a dead page.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Ranked by what each label discloses, never commissions.
| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| FreshCap | 31% |
| Real Mushrooms | >30% |
| Nootropics Depot | 25% |
| Host Defense | not disclosed |
The verified picks
Real Mushrooms Lion's Mane (120 Capsules)
The fullest disclosure in the category: 100% fruiting body, states >30% beta-glucan, sourced through Nammex per the brand. We found no lot-specific certificate on the brand site, so treat the testing claims as the brand's word.
Check price on Amazon →Nootropics Depot Lion's Mane 8:1 Extract (60 Capsules)
8:1 whole fruiting-body extract standardised to 25% beta-glucan, with per-lot certificates of analysis, serious transparency at the lowest price of the verified picks.
Check price on Amazon →FreshCap Lion's Mane 14:1 (120 Capsules)
14:1 whole fruiting-body extract disclosing 31% beta-glucan. The brand says it is third-party tested; we found no public registry entry or document, and it doesn't name the lab or origin.
Check price on Amazon →How we ranked (and how to choose yourself)
We don't rank by "mg per serving", a big number can be mostly rice. We rank by what a brand will verify. The same four checks work for any product you're weighing:
| Product | Form | Beta-glucan | Verification (as labelled) | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Real Mushrooms | Fruiting body | >30% | Third-party tested (brand claim) | $34.95 | Price → |
| Nootropics Depot | Fruiting body | 25% | Third-party lab tested; lot reports posted (brand claim) | $32.99 | Price → |
| FreshCap | Fruiting body | 31% | 3rd-party tested (brand claim) | $39.99 | Price → |
| Host Defense | Mycelium on rice | Not disclosed | None | $47.21 | Price → |
- Fruiting body stated: not just "mushroom," "extract," or "mycelium."
- Beta-glucan % as a number: the active fibre, not vague "polysaccharides" (which can include starch).
- Extract ratio (8:1, 14:1), tells you how concentrated it is.
- A viewable lot-specific COA: not just a "3rd-party tested" badge.
Verification check · Lions Mane
What we could and could not verify about Lions Mane
Not one of the 24 Lions Mane products we track appears in the NSF, USP or Informed Sport registries. 14 of the 24 still advertise testing of some kind, wording those registries cannot confirm for Lions Mane. A “cGMP” line audits the factory, not the Lions Mane bottle you would actually receive.
Lions Mane is one of the newer supplements we track. Across all 17 of those newer supplements, 14 have no product confirmed in a certifier’s registry: people started buying them before anyone started checking them.
Method: our Lions Mane roster matched against the full public registries of third-party-certified supplements in the US, NSF/ANSI 173, USP Verified and Informed Sport, 5,317 listings, retrieved 2026-08-25. Absence means nobody independent has checked that Lions Mane product, not that it failed. Full method and limitations.
The shelf · Lions Mane
These Lions Mane servings are not comparable to each other
Nature's Truth Lion's Mane Gummies (60 Gummies) states 175 mg a serving and Nutricost Organic Lion's Mane 2,100 mg (90 Capsules) states 2,100 mg, both occupy one row of the same price column. Micro Ingredients Organic Lion's Mane Powder (16 oz) is the lowest here at $0.09 a day, and its serving (1,500 mg) is not smaller than most, so its low price is not down to a small serving. Before comparing Micro Ingredients Organic Lion's Mane Powder (16 oz) with Host Defense Lion's Mane Gummies (90 Gummies), check what each calls a serving.
Method: the 24 Lions Mane products above, compared on label facts, serving size, servings per container, form, price. Not a dosing recommendation.
A product that does not state beta-glucan
Host Defense Lion's Mane (Mycelium, 120 Capsules)
Host Defense's capsules are mycelium grown on brown rice, and the label does not state a beta-glucan percentage or extract ratio. Mycelium is the source of erinacines. With no stated number, it cannot be compared with the products above on beta-glucan, so we do not rank it. Why this matters ›
Buying lion's mane on Amazon: the listings on this page
These are the 24 Amazon listings behind this page, identified by ASIN so you land on the same container we priced. Each cost is the Amazon price we saw on 2026-10-09, divided by the label serving count. Prices change; check the price on Amazon before you buy. Cheapest per day: Micro Ingredients Organic Lion's Mane Powder at $0.09. None of the 24 is in a certification registry in our snapshot.
| Listing | ASIN | Price | Cost per day | Verification | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Micro Ingredients Organic Lion's Mane Powder | B07P2CWWVV | $29.99 | $0.09 | not checked | Check price → |
| BulkSupplements Lion's Mane Extract Capsules | B0CHGY7LFW | $22.96 | $0.12 | not checked | Check price → |
| 365 by Whole Foods Market Lion's Mane 500 mg | B08LJ443YP | $18.98 | $0.21 | not checked | Check price → |
| Nature's Truth Lion's Mane Gummies | B0DDCPCN3V | $6.49 | $0.22 | not checked | Check price → |
| Nature's Truth Lion's Mane 4:1 Extract with BioPerine | B08F2SK15N | $13.55 | $0.27 | not checked | Check price → |
| Fungies Lion's Mane Gummies | B09K4MBQ22 | $17.95 | $0.30 | not checked | Check price → |
| Horbaach Lion's Mane Extract | B08HLFVRB9 | $19.78 | $0.33 | not checked | Check price → |
| Double Wood Lion's Mane Mushroom 500 mg | B07PM8X5CG | $19.95 | $0.33 | not checked | Check price → |
| Om Lion's Mane Powder | B09FD8C16B | $35.95 | $0.36 | not checked | Check price → |
| Gaia Herbs Lion's Mane Mushroom | B0BRTCCT8W | $56.69 | $0.48 | not checked | Check price → |
| Nutricost Organic Lion's Mane 2,100 mg | B08FV45PC9 | $14.95 | $0.50 | not checked | Check price → |
| NOW Lion's Mane 500 mg | B09V3BS25N | $15.59 | $0.52 | not checked | Check price → |
| Nootropics Depot Lion's Mane 8:1 Extract | B079ZBP341 | $32.99 | $0.55 | Lot test report posted | Check price → |
| Om Lion's Mane Capsules | B08DK3XC9D | $33.99 | $0.57 | not checked | Check price → |
| Real Mushrooms Lion's Mane Extract Powder | B01DKZZFCE | $34.79 | $0.58 | not checked | Check price → |
| Real Mushrooms Lion's Mane | B078SZX3ML | $34.95 | $0.59 | Label claim only | Check price → |
| FreshCap Lion's Mane 14:1 | B081FKDGSC | $39.99 | $0.67 | Label claim only | Check price → |
| Toniiq Lion's Mane 1,800 mg, 20% Beta-Glucans | B08NRLJ7TM | $27.97 | $0.70 | not checked | Check price → |
| MaryRuth's Lion's Mane Liquid Drops | B08NFM1Q6H | $21.90 | $0.73 | not checked | Check price → |
| Sports Research Organic Lion's Mane 1,800 mg | B0G6Q1TPR1 | $22.95 | $0.77 | not checked | Check price → |
| Host Defense Lion's Mane | B00OVF9DVM | $47.21 | $0.79 | Label claim only | Check price → |
| Om Lion's Mane Gummies | B0B7VKJCFM | $24.87 | $0.83 | not checked | Check price → |
| Transparent Labs Mushroom Stack | B0FDX41BXW | $24.99 | $0.83 | not checked | Check price → |
| Host Defense Lion's Mane Gummies | B0DSLTV6W2 | $26.21 | $0.87 | not checked | Check price → |
Three checks on the Amazon listing itself
- Who is selling it. The “Sold by” line should read the brand, Amazon, or the brand’s named distributor.
- The lot and the expiry on arrival. For a product with a certificate lookup or a registry listing, the lot number on the container is what you check, not the listing. A lot older than the certificate date, or an expiry inside a year, is a reason to return it.
- The serving count, not the piece count. The per-day figures above use the label’s serving; a listing that says “240 count” at two pieces a serving is 120 days, so compare cost per serving rather than cost per piece.
Product links go to Amazon and we may earn a commission if you buy. It never changes which product we pick or what we say about it. How we choose.
What each product discloses, side by side
The three markers this page ranks on are all things a label either states or does not. Here is each product against them, from our catalogue and from reading each brand’s own site on 2026-09-20. “Third-party tested” appears on three of the four labels; what sits behind the phrase differs.
- Real Mushrooms Lion’s Mane: 1,000 mg per serving, 100% fruiting body, states >30% beta-glucan, so at least 300 mg of beta-glucan a serving. The brand states third-party testing and shows a Purity-IQ trustmark; the trustmark page we opened is a directory entry rather than a lab report, and no lot-specific certificate is published on the brand site.
- Nootropics Depot Lion’s Mane 8:1: 500 mg per capsule, fruiting-body extract, declared 25% beta-glucan, about 125 mg a serving. The only product of the four with a lot-specific certificate of analysis we could open (Omnient Labs), including a beta-glucan assay.
- FreshCap Lion’s Mane: 1,000 mg per serving, fruiting body, declared 31% beta-glucan, about 310 mg a serving. The site states ISO 17025 third-party testing and publishes no document.
- Host Defense Lion’s Mane: 1,000 mg per serving of mycelium grown on rice, no beta-glucan percentage declared, and no third-party testing claim we could find on the brand site. The milligram figure includes the grain the mycelium grew on, so it cannot be placed on the beta-glucan scale.
Two of the three “tested” labels therefore resolve to a claim, and one to a document. That is not an accusation; it is the difference between what a buyer can check and what a buyer is asked to believe, and it is why we favor the declarations you can hold the maker to. The third-party-tested lion’s mane page keeps the full ladder, and the cost-per-dose page prices the three disclosing products per 100 mg of beta-glucan.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best lion's mane supplement?
A 100% fruiting-body extract that discloses a beta-glucan percentage. A lot-specific COA is a bonus, and Nootropics Depot (8:1, 25%) is the one we found with one. Our top pick is Real Mushrooms (>30% beta-glucan, the fullest disclosure; we found no lot certificate on its site). FreshCap (14:1, 31%) is a strong alternative. Buy by disclosed actives, not the milligram number.
How does Host Defense lion's mane compare on disclosure?
The capsules are mycelium on rice, and the label does not state a beta-glucan percentage, so it cannot be compared with the other products on that measure. That is why it is not ranked among our disclosure-based picks.
How do I choose a good lion's mane?
Look for "fruiting body," a beta-glucan percentage (not "polysaccharides"), an extract ratio, and a viewable lot-specific COA. Skip products that only say "mushroom" or disclose nothing.
Related
- Lion's Mane: what the evidence shows
- Dosage Guide: how much, and how many capsules
- Fruiting Body vs Mycelium: the beta-glucan quality lens in depth
Sources
- McCleary BV, Draga A. "Measurement of β-Glucan in Mushrooms and Mycelial Products." J AOAC Int. 2016. PMID: 26957216
- Mirończuk-Chodakowska I, et al. "Beta-Glucans from Fungi." Nutrients. 2021. PMID: 34836215
- Doar E, et al. "Substrate and tissue type on erinacine production." Fungal Biol Biotechnol. 2025. PMID: 40181478