Omega-3 and Triglycerides (2026): High-EPA Fish Oils Compared
The label number is what counts. This page compares fish oils by the EPA+DHA actually in each serving and by what 3.5g of EPA+DHA a day would cost (3.5g is only a common unit for comparing price; it is not a recommended intake). A "1000mg fish oil" softgel often holds far less than 1000mg of EPA+DHA. Follow the label serving, and talk to your doctor before taking high amounts.
Best pick: Viva Naturals Triple Strength — 2,070mg EPA+DHA per 2-softgel serving (high EPA) and IFOS-listed.
Quality pick: Sports Research Triple Strength — triglyceride form, EPA-dominant, burpless.
Products compared by cost per 3.5g of EPA+DHA
Serving sizes vary a lot between products, so a per-bottle price is hard to compare. Two things help: high EPA+DHA per softgel and cost per 3.5 g of EPA+DHA. The table sorts by that cost, a common unit for comparing price, and the "softgels per 3.5g" column shows how many pills that amount would be. It is a price comparison, not a recommended intake.
| Product | EPA+DHA/Serving | EPA | Form | Softgels per 3.5g | Cost per 3.5g | Servings | Price | Cert. | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NOW Foods Ultra Omega-3 (750mg EPA+DHA) | 750mg | 500mg | Ethyl Ester (EE) | ~5 | $0.75 | 180 | $28.94 | None | Buy |
| Viva Naturals Triple Strength Omega-3 (2500mg) | 2,070mg | 1500mg | rTG (re-esterified) | ~3 | $1.05 | 90 | $55.96 | IFOS 5-Star | Buy |
| Sports Research Triple Strength Omega-3 (1250mg) | 950mg | 690mg | Triglyceride (TG) | ~4 | $1.24 | 90 | $30.25 | IFOS 5-Star, MSC Certified | Buy |
| Carlson Elite Omega-3 Gems (1600mg Omega-3) | 1,400mg | 800mg | Triglyceride (TG) | ~5 | $1.63 | 65 | $42.42 | IFOS 5-Star | Buy |
| Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega (1280mg Omega-3) | 1,100mg | 650mg | Triglyceride (TG) | ~6 | $2.28 | 90 | $64.56 | Not IFOS-enrolled (brand lot reports only) | Buy |
| Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 (Algae Oil, 60 Softgels) | 630mg | Not disclosed | Algal oil (form not stated) | ~6 | $2.50 | 60 | $26.95 | Vegan Certified, Non-GMO Tested | Buy |
| Nordic Naturals Algae Omega (715mg Omega-3, Vegan), 60 Softgels | 585mg | 195mg | Algal TG | ~12 | $5.68 | 30 | $28.46 | Certified Vegan | Buy |
Which one to buy
Best overall: Viva Naturals Triple Strength
Viva Naturals Triple Strength packs 2,070mg EPA+DHA into a 2-softgel serving, and it's EPA-dominant (about 1,500mg EPA). That density means fewer softgels per gram of EPA+DHA. Re-esterified triglyceride form, and IFOS-listed (we checked the IFOS registry on 2026-09-29). Check the cost column above: a cheaper ethyl-ester bottle costs less per 3.5g but is absorbed less well.
Best quality: Sports Research Triple Strength
Sports Research Triple Strength is a fair default. Triglyceride form, EPA-dominant, and genuinely burpless — which matters if you take several softgels a day. Slightly lower EPA per softgel than Viva. It is IFOS-listed (checked 2026-09-29); its sustainability claims are the brand’s own.
A note on ethyl-ester products
Ethyl-ester (EE) fish oil is the cheap concentrate. It is absorbed less well than triglyceride-form oil, so a low price per bottle can hide a higher cost per gram you actually absorb. Algal oil is the fish-free option and is often DHA-dominant.
Why the number on the front of the bottle can mislead
"1200mg fish oil" usually means about 360mg of actual EPA+DHA — the rest is other fats. That is why we compare products on the EPA+DHA per serving printed in the Supplement Facts.
We measured the gap rather than estimating it
That “1,200 mg means about 360 mg” figure is not a rule of thumb. We read 899 fish oil labels filed with the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database — out of 5,434 it lists on the market — and pulled the declared omega-3 from the Supplement Facts panel alongside the fish oil weight it sits under, reading through the nested rows where the two are reported separately. 516 labels declared both numbers.
What this means for price. The median serving in that read delivers 600 mg of omega-3, so a bottle’s front-of-pack number says little about what is inside. This is why the products above are compared on EPA+DHA per serving rather than on the number printed largest on the front, and why a cheap bottle can be the expensive choice once you price it per gram of omega-3.
Method: 899 labels retrieved from the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database. Basis: omega-3 declared on the Supplement Facts panel, read through nested rows; the fish-oil weight is the parent row on the same panel. 516 labels declared both the omega-3 and the fish oil figure and are the basis of the ratio; 620 declared an omega-3 amount at all.
Talk to your doctor first
Fish oil is a supplement, not a substitute for a prescription. If you take blood thinners or other medication, or have a health condition, talk to your doctor before taking more than the label serving.
Frequently asked questions
How do I read the EPA+DHA amount on a fish oil label?
Read the Supplement Facts for the actual EPA and DHA per serving, not the "fish oil" number on the front. A "1,200mg fish oil" softgel often holds only about a third of that as EPA+DHA.
What is the difference between EPA and DHA?
They are the two main omega-3 fatty acids in fish oil. Products differ in their EPA:DHA ratio; some are EPA-dominant and some, like algal oil, are DHA-dominant.
Is over-the-counter fish oil the same as prescription fish oil?
Prescription omega-3 products are regulated drugs with set concentrations. Over-the-counter fish oil is a supplement and is not a substitute for a prescription. Talk to your doctor before taking high amounts.
Who should talk to a doctor before taking high amounts of fish oil?
Anyone who takes blood thinners or other prescription medication, has a health condition, or plans surgery. Follow the label serving unless your doctor advises otherwise.
Related guides
- Best Fish Oil Supplement Overall — full ranking by cost per dose
- EPA vs DHA — how the two differ
- Triglyceride vs Ethyl Ester Form — why cheap fish oil absorbs poorly
- Best Omega-3 for Joint Comfort
- Best Omega-3 for Brain & Cognition
- All Omega-3 Products
Sources
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. "Omega-3 Fatty Acids: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals." ods.od.nih.gov