Best Oil of Oregano (2026): 9 Softgels and Drops by Price per 100 mg and Carvacrol
By Erin Rose Updated October 6, 2026 Methodology
Buy NOW Oregano Oil. It costs $0.12 a softgel ($0.06 per 100 mg of oregano oil), the lowest of the 9 we checked. Each softgel holds 181 mg of oregano oil with at least 55% carvacrol. For drops, buy Carlyle drops.
We earn a commission if you buy through these links. It never changes a score or the order.
None of the 9 is on a testing list. We searched all five public lists. Any testing claim on this page is the brand's own. See all 9.
Every oil of oregano we checked, ranked
We read each label, searched five testing lists for it, and priced it per 100 mg of oregano oil. Most products dilute the oil in olive oil, so we price the oregano oil itself, not the whole softgel. We rank on two things, in this order: the label prints both the oregano oil in mg and a carvacrol figure, then the lowest price per 100 mg. Carvacrol is the compound brands use to show strength.
| Oil of oregano | Carvacrol (label) | Per 100 mg oil | Per serving |
|---|---|---|---|
| | Min. 55% | $0.06 | $0.12 |
| | Min. 70% | $0.10 | $0.03 |
| | 144 mg (min. 80%) | $0.14 | $0.25 |
| | 32 mg carvacrol and thymol together | $0.15 | $0.35 |
| | 24 mg (min. 80%) | $0.16 | $0.05 |
| | 60% | $0.16 | $0.06 |
| | 40 mg ("typically") | $0.22 | $0.13 |
| | 130 mg (min. 86%) | $0.23 | $0.35 |
| | Not stated | — | $0.32 |
- NOW ($0.06 per 100 mg) is our pick: the lowest price per 100 mg of oregano oil of the 9, and each softgel holds 181 mg of oregano oil with at least 55% carvacrol. It also has small amounts of ginger and fennel oil, and the softgel is enteric coated.
- Carlyle drops ($0.10 per 100 mg) is the best drops here: the lowest price per 100 mg of the 3 drops, with at least 70% carvacrol.
- Natural Factors softgels ($0.14 per 100 mg) print the most carvacrol per softgel: 144 mg (min. 80%).
- Carlyle softgels say "4000 mg" on the front. The facts panel shows 61.6 mg of extract per 2 softgels; 4,000 mg is the oregano leaf the extract is said to equal.
- Oreganol P73 ranks last only because its label gives a 140 mg blend and does not say how much of it is oregano oil, so it cannot be priced per mg. It is $0.32 a softgel.
Oil of oregano capsules vs drops
Same oil, different dose. Drops and softgels both hold oregano oil diluted in olive oil. Per 100 mg of oregano oil, the drops here cost $0.10 to $0.16. Softgels and capsules cost $0.06 to $0.23. The bigger difference is the serving: a drop serving holds 30 to 34 mg of oregano oil, and a softgel or capsule serving holds 61.6 to 230 mg.
| Product | One serving | Oregano oil | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gaia Herbs Capsule | 1 capsule | 230 mg | $0.35 |
| NOW Softgel | 1 softgel | 181 mg | $0.12 |
| Natural Factors Softgel | 1 softgel | 180 mg | $0.25 |
| Zane Hellas Softgel | 1 softgel | 150 mg | $0.35 |
| Carlyle Softgel | 2 softgels | 61.6 mg | $0.13 |
| Carlyle Drops | 0.15 mL (about 5 drops) | 34 mg | $0.03 |
| MaryRuth's Drops | 7 drops (about 0.15 mL) | 34 mg | $0.06 |
| Natural Factors Drops | 4 drops (0.16 mL) | 30 mg | $0.05 |
So a drop serving costs less per day, but it holds much less oil. Matching one softgel of NOW (181 mg) takes about 5.3 servings of Carlyle drops. Drops also taste strong and hot. The Carlyle and Natural Factors drop labels say a warm feeling is normal, and MaryRuth's says to take its drops in water. Softgels skip the taste. Pick the form you will take.
What carvacrol on an oregano oil label means
4 of the 9 labels print carvacrol in mg. 3 give only a percent, 1 gives carvacrol and thymol together, and 1 does not state it. Carvacrol is the main compound in oregano oil, and the share brands print runs from 55% to 86% on these labels. A percent is a share of the oregano oil, not of the whole softgel, so we did the math below. A label number is still the brand's claim; we did not lab-test these oils.
| Product | Label says | Carvacrol per serving |
|---|---|---|
| NOW Softgel | Min. 55% | At least 99.6 mg |
| Carlyle Drops | Min. 70% | At least 23.8 mg |
| Natural Factors Softgel | 144 mg (min. 80%) | 144 mg |
| Gaia Herbs Capsule | 32 mg carvacrol and thymol together | Not split out |
| Natural Factors Drops | 24 mg (min. 80%) | 24 mg |
| MaryRuth's Drops | 60% | About 20.4 mg |
| Carlyle Softgel | 40 mg ("typically") | 40 mg |
| Zane Hellas Softgel | 130 mg (min. 86%) | 130 mg |
| Oreganol P73 Softgel | Not stated | Not stated |
- Percent is not the dose. Zane Hellas prints 86% and Natural Factors drops print 80%, but a drop serving holds far less oil than a softgel, so its carvacrol in mg is much lower.
- Gaia Herbs is a CO2 extract, not a steam-distilled oil. Its label gives 32 mg of carvacrol and thymol together per capsule.
- Carlyle softgels say carvacrol "typically" comes to 40 mg. That word means it is not a minimum.
- Oreganol P73 softgels do not state carvacrol. The brand's liquid says "natural carvacrol level: 73% plus" on the front.
Which oregano oil supplements are third-party tested?
0 of 9. We searched each program's own list on October 6, 2026: NSF Certified for Sport, NSF/ANSI 173, USP Verified, Informed Sport and Informed Choice. A listing counts only if it names the product. No oregano oil is listed in any of them.
Proof: oregano oil on the testing lists
Here is what each brand says about testing. These are the brands' own words, from the Amazon listings we read.
| Brand | What the brand says |
|---|---|
| NOW Softgel | Label says "Quality tested & packaged by NOW Foods." No outside lab named. |
| Carlyle Drops | Listing says "Laboratory tested." No lab or report named. |
| Natural Factors Softgel | Listing says "every batch is third-party tested by ISURA." No report posted. |
| Gaia Herbs Capsule | Listing says "independently tested by SuppCo for identity and potency against label claims." Gaia's site says it also tests in its own lab. |
| Natural Factors Drops | Listing image says "third party certified" and shows the ISURA mark. No report posted. |
| MaryRuth's Drops | Listing says it is "Clean Label Project Certified" and verified for label accuracy. No report posted. |
| Carlyle Softgel | Listing says "Laboratory tested." No lab or report named. |
| Zane Hellas Softgel | Listing says "We provide CoA with every order" (a lab report). We did not see one. |
| Oreganol P73 Softgel | No testing claim on the Amazon listing. SuppCo lists a brand claim of outside lab testing and says it has not verified it. |
SuppCo, which ChatGPT cited for this question in our October check, scores products from what brands disclose. On its Oreganol P73 page it says product-specific testing "is not currently verified by SuppCo." For how the five public lists work, see our third-party tested database.
What the labels say
Most of these oils are diluted in olive oil. Gaia Herbs is the exception: a CO2 extract mixed with sunflower lecithin. 5 of the 9 use a gelatin softgel; Carlyle drops, Gaia Herbs capsule, Natural Factors drops and MaryRuth's drops have no gelatin.
| Product | Diluted in | Other ingredients, claims |
|---|---|---|
| NOW Softgel | Extra virgin olive oil (amount not stated). Also 17.6 mg ginger oil and 19.3 mg fennel oil. | Softgel (bovine gelatin, glycerin, water, enteric coating, carob), extra virgin olive oil. Origanum vulgare. Enteric coated. |
| Carlyle Drops | Organic extra virgin olive oil (amount not stated). | Organic extra virgin olive oil. USDA Organic. Origanum minutiflorum. |
| Natural Factors Softgel | 180 mg organic extra virgin olive oil. | Softgel (gelatin, glycerin, purified water), natural vitamin E. Organic. Origanum vulgare leaf. |
| Gaia Herbs Capsule | Not diluted in oil: a CO2 extract of oregano leaf with sunflower lecithin. | Sunflower lecithin, vegan capsule (hypromellose). CO2 extract of oregano leaf. Vegan. |
| Natural Factors Drops | 120 mg organic extra virgin olive oil. | Organic extra virgin olive oil, natural vitamin E. Certified organic, wild-crafted. Origanum vulgare. |
| MaryRuth's Drops | Organic extra virgin olive oil and mixed tocopherols (amount not stated). | Organic extra virgin olive oil, mixed tocopherol oil. USDA Organic. Origanum vulgare. Vegan. |
| Carlyle Softgel | Organic extra virgin olive oil (amount not stated). | Gelatin, vegetable glycerin. Origanum minutiflorum. Front says "4000 mg." The label says that is the oregano leaf the 61.6 mg extract equals. |
| Zane Hellas Softgel | 350 mg extra virgin olive oil. | Softgel (bovine gelatin, glycerol, water). Greek oregano (Origanum vulgare heracleoticum). Made in Greece. |
| Oreganol P73 Softgel | Organic extra virgin olive oil. The label gives a 140 mg blend and does not say how much is oregano oil. | Beef gelatin. Wild Mediterranean oregano ("P73"). Organic. |
Oregano oil is strong. Most labels here say to ask a doctor first if you are pregnant, nursing or take medication, and two of the drops labels say a warm feeling is normal. Follow the serving on your label.
Who should buy which
- You want the best oil of oreganoNOW Oregano Oil
$0.06 per 100 mg of oregano oil, $0.12 a softgel. 181 mg of oregano oil with at least 55% carvacrol. 180 servings a bottle. Check price.
- You want dropsCarlyle drops
$0.10 per 100 mg of oregano oil, $0.03 a serving. 34 mg of oregano oil per about 5 drops, at least 70% carvacrol. USDA Organic. Check price.
- You want the most carvacrol per softgelNatural Factors softgels
144 mg of carvacrol (min. 80%) in 180 mg of oregano oil. $0.25 a softgel, $0.14 per 100 mg. Check price.
- You want a capsule with no gelatinGaia Herbs
Vegan capsule. 230 mg of CO2 extract with 32 mg carvacrol and thymol together. $0.35 a capsule. Check price.
- You want the well-known wild oregano brandOreganol P73
$0.32 a softgel. Its label does not say how much oregano oil or carvacrol is in each softgel, so you cannot compare it per mg. Check price.
Checked but not in the table
- Nature's Way Oregano Oil (60 capsules): 50 mg of oregano oil per capsule (75% carvacrol, 37.5 mg) plus 25 mg of flaxseed oil, the least oregano oil per capsule of any we read.
- Nature's Answer Oil of Oregano (90 softgels): the label gives 150 mg of oregano extract with 7 mg of carvacrol, about 5%, far below the 55% to 86% on the oils above.
- Oreganol P73 liquid (1 fl oz): a 50 mg blend per 2 drops in olive oil; the label does not say how much is oregano oil.
- Zane Hellas undiluted drops (1 fl oz): 100% essential oil. The label says to always dilute it, so it is not ready to take as sold.
- Joy of the Mountains (10 mL): Amazon showed only one left, from an outside seller, on October 6, 2026.
- Micro Ingredients with black seed oil (150 softgels): a blend of 300 mg oregano oil and 200 mg black seed oil per 2 softgels, not plain oregano oil. For black seed oil on its own, see our black seed oil comparison.
Questions
What is the best oil of oregano brand?
NOW, for softgels. Its softgel holds 181 mg of oregano oil with at least 55% carvacrol, and it costs $0.06 per 100 mg of oregano oil on Amazon, the lowest of the 9 we checked. For drops, Carlyle: $0.10 per 100 mg, with 34 mg of oregano oil and at least 70% carvacrol per about 5 drops.
Which oregano oil supplements are third-party tested?
None of the 9 we checked is on a public testing list. We searched NSF Certified for Sport, NSF/ANSI 173, USP Verified, Informed Sport and Informed Choice on October 6, 2026. Several brands say they test: Natural Factors names the lab ISURA, Gaia Herbs says SuppCo tested its capsules, and MaryRuth's carries a Clean Label Project seal. Those are the brands' own claims, not a public registry listing.
Oil of oregano capsules vs drops: which is better?
It is the same oil, so pick the form you will take. Per 100 mg of oregano oil, the drops here cost $0.10 to $0.16 and the softgels and capsules cost $0.06 to $0.23. Drop servings are small: 30 to 34 mg of oregano oil, vs 61.6 to 230 mg in a softgel or capsule serving. Drops taste strong and hot; the drop labels say a warm feeling is normal or to mix them in water.
What does 70% carvacrol mean on oregano oil?
It means the label says at least 70% of the oregano oil, by weight, is carvacrol, the main compound in oregano oil. So 34 mg of oil at 70% holds at least 23.8 mg of carvacrol. The labels on this page print 55% to 86%. Some print only the percent, so you have to do the math; we did it in the carvacrol table.
Is oregano oil the same as oil of oregano?
Yes. Both names mean oil from oregano leaves (Origanum species). Most supplements dilute it in olive oil. Undiluted essential oil is a different product: the Zane Hellas undiluted drops we checked say on the label to always dilute them.
Is oil of oregano with black seed oil better?
It is a blend, so each softgel splits its room between two oils. Micro Ingredients, for example, lists 300 mg of oregano oil and 200 mg of black seed oil per 2 softgels. If you want both, compare the mg of each oil on the label. For plain black seed oil, see our black seed oil comparison.
Sources
- Amazon listings and Supplement Facts images, read October 6, 2026: NOW B07FYLJYG2, Natural Factors B00DUHF9MO and B00EDJN4KM, Gaia Herbs B0036THMYE, Zane Hellas B09N6FC9ZD, Carlyle B07G1JRPV9 and B0B94T7BTZ, Oreganol P73 B077YCHC7N, MaryRuth's B08NFLNRHY. Prices: Amazon buy box, October 6, 2026.
- Testing lists, searched October 6, 2026: NSF/ANSI 173, "oregano" (also "oreganol," "carvacrol," "origanum" and each brand's company name); NSF Certified for Sport (its four "oregano" matches are greens and reds powders); Informed Sport; Informed Choice (October 2026 list); USP Verified (all pages).
- SuppCo, North American Herb & Spice Oreganol P73 page, read October 6, 2026: supp.co.
- Gaia Herbs, Oil of Oregano product page (testing and carvacrol notes), read October 6, 2026: gaiaherbs.com.

