Best Krill Oil Supplements (2026): 7 Compared by EPA+DHA
The best krill oil for most people is NatureMyst Krill Oil: 2 softgels give 340 mg of omega-3 EPA+DHA, the most of the 7 krill oils we compared. It costs $2.65 per gram of EPA+DHA at the brand’s price.
By Erin Rose Updated October 19, 2026 How we score
Our pick for: Most people
NatureMyst Krill Oil
8.5/10 Our score
Top score of the 7 we compare (tied with Kori). The most EPA+DHA a serving
- EPA+DHA a serving
- 340 mg2 softgels: 230 mg EPA + 110 mg DHA
- Per gram of EPA+DHA
- $2.65Brand price; Amazon’s can differ
- Cost a day
- $0.902 softgels, at the brand’s price
- Krill oil
- 1,000 mg2 softgels of 500 mg each
- Bottle
- 60 softgels$26.99 at the brand’s store
- Testing list
- Not on a list we holdThe brand says each batch is tested by an outside lab
Why we pick it Krill oil’s weak spot is how little omega-3 each softgel holds. NatureMyst holds the most of any krill oil we link, so you swallow fewer softgels for the same omega-3. It costs about the same per gram as Kori, the other top scorer.
What you give up Like the other krill oils we link, it is not on a public testing list, and the brand does not name the lab that tests it.
Which krill oil is right for you?
Compare krill oils by the EPA+DHA in a serving, not the krill oil on the front of the bottle. Here is what to buy if you want something else.
Want a krill oil with a named source?
Kori ties our pick on score and costs about the same per gram ($2.67). It uses Superba2 krill oil, and its carton carries the Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) mark for a certified fishery. Two softgels give 90 mg less EPA+DHA than our pick.
Kori Krill Oil
8.5/10 · $2.67 per gram · 250 mg a serving
Want the lowest price per gram?
Bronson costs the least per gram of EPA+DHA of the krill oils we compare ($2.33). Two softgels give 200 mg. It names no outside lab or testing list.
Bronson Antarctic Krill Oil
5.5/10 · $2.33 per gram · 200 mg a serving
Want the most omega-3 for your money?
Buy fish oil. Our fish oil pick, Viva Naturals Triple Strength, costs $0.30 per gram of EPA+DHA at its brand’s price, about a ninth of our krill pick’s cost. One of its softgels holds as much EPA+DHA as 6 NatureMyst softgels. See the best fish oil and krill oil vs fish oil.
Thinking about MegaRed?
MegaRed Krill Oil 350 mg is the krill brand people search for most on Bing, but one softgel holds 74 mg of EPA+DHA. You would need 5 softgels to match one serving of our pick.
Allergic to shellfish?
Skip krill oil. Krill are shellfish, and a lab study found a protein that looks like the main shellfish allergen (tropomyosin) in krill oil products (Vang 2013). Fish oil gives the same EPA and DHA; algae oil gives mostly DHA.
Krill oils we compared, ranked
Scored on EPA+DHA a serving, testing, cost, label and recalls. Our pick comes first, then by score. Costs are per gram (1,000 mg) of EPA+DHA at each brand’s own price, checked October 19, 2026. The data is in our free data file.
| Krill oil | EPA+DHA a serving | Per gram | Why it is or is not a pick |
|---|---|---|---|
| NatureMyst Krill Oil8.5/10 | 340 mg | $2.65 | Our pick: the most EPA+DHA a serving |
| Kori Krill Oil8.5/10 | 250 mg | $2.67 | Ties our pick on score; Superba2, MSC mark |
| Bronson Antarctic Krill Oil5.5/10 | 200 mg | $2.33 | Lowest cost per gram; names no outside lab |
| Carlyle Antarctic Krill Oil4.0/10 | 120 mg | $2.86 | “2,000 mg” of oil, but only 120 mg of EPA+DHA |
| NOW Krill Oil3.5/10 | 195 mg | $5.55 | Neptune krill oil; costs the most per gram at NOW’s list price |
| MegaRed Krill Oil 350 mg3.0/10 | 74 mg | $3.33 | Most-searched brand; 74 mg in a 350 mg softgel |
| BulkSupplements Krill Oil | Not stated | Not stated | Label states no EPA or DHA |
How to read a krill oil label
The big number on the front is the krill oil, not the omega-3. Look for the EPA and DHA lines on the back. Carlyle’s “2,000 mg” serving holds 120 mg of EPA+DHA; NatureMyst’s 1,000 mg serving holds 340 mg. Some labels print only the krill oil: BulkSupplements gives no EPA or DHA amount, so you cannot tell what you get.
Is any krill oil third-party tested?
Not on a public testing list. We checked each of the 7 we compare against the NSF, USP and Informed Choice lists, and none is listed. Kori’s carton says third-party tested, and NatureMyst says an outside lab tests each batch; neither names the lab. The krill oils we found on those lists are sold elsewhere: Kirkland Signature at Costco (USP Verified), up&up at Target (NSF/ANSI 173) and Transparent Labs on its own site (Informed Choice). We link only to Amazon.
What krill oil does
It gives the same omega-3s as fish oil, EPA and DHA. In reviews of trials, krill oil lowered triglycerides about as much as fish oil per gram of omega-3 (Kim 2020). The largest trial for knee pain, in 262 people, found no benefit (Laslett 2024). More on benefits, dose and side effects in our krill oil guide.
Questions people ask
What is the best krill oil supplement?
NatureMyst Krill Oil, for the most EPA+DHA in a serving. Kori Krill Oil ties it on our score; Bronson costs the least per gram. If cost matters most, fish oil gives far more omega-3 per dollar.
Is krill oil better than fish oil?
Not clearly. At the same dose, trials disagree: two (4 and 12 weeks) found blood omega-3 rose about the same with either oil (Yurko-Mauro 2015; Vosskötter 2023), and a 2026 trial found it rose more with krill (Loukil 2026). Fish oil costs far less per gram. More in krill oil vs fish oil.
How many krill oil softgels should I take?
Follow the label, usually 1 or 2 softgels a day. Krill trials gave 2 to 4 g of krill oil a day, which is 4 to 8 of the common 500 mg softgels. More in how much krill oil to take.
How we score
Five marks: does a serving hold at least 250 mg of EPA+DHA (the low end of what krill trials and Europe’s food safety agency use); does the brand claim outside testing, and is the product on a public testing list (a listing earns the most); what a gram of EPA+DHA costs at the brand’s own price against the cheapest; does the label state EPA and DHA; and the brand’s FDA recall record. Dose and testing are worth up to 3 points each, cost up to 2, label and recalls up to 1 each. More on our method.
Sources
- Kim MG, et al. “Lipid-modifying effects of krill oil vs fish oil: a network meta-analysis.” Nutr Rev. 2020. PubMed 32073633
- Laslett LL, et al. “Krill Oil for Knee Osteoarthritis: A Randomized Clinical Trial.” JAMA. 2024. PubMed 38776073
- Yurko-Mauro K, et al. “Similar eicosapentaenoic acid and docosahexaenoic acid plasma levels achieved with fish oil or krill oil in a randomized double-blind four-week bioavailability study.” Lipids Health Dis. 2015. PubMed 26328782
- Vosskötter F, et al. “Equal bioavailability of omega-3 PUFA from Calanus oil, fish oil and krill oil: A 12-week randomized parallel study.” Lipids. 2023. PubMed 36960737
- Loukil I, et al. “Krill oil increases plasma omega-3 fatty acids more than fish oil in healthy adults: a double-blind randomized controlled trial.” Am J Clin Nutr. 2026. PubMed 42144109
- Vang B, et al. “Detection of tropomyosin and determination of proteins in crustacean oils.” Food Chem. 2013. PubMed 23768329
- Testing lists: NSF/ANSI 173, USP Verified and Informed Choice. EPA, DHA and prices from each brand’s own label and store.