Hyaluronic Acid and Skin: What the Trials Studied (Who Funded Them)
Educational summary — not medical advice. Covers ORAL hyaluronic acid capsules only, a separate product from HA dermal filler injections and topical HA serums; this evidence does not transfer to either. No anti-aging or wrinkle claim is supported. This statement has not been evaluated by the FDA. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
Quick answer
Oral hyaluronic acid has been studied for skin outcomes in a few small trials. Results were small, and most of the evidence shares one funder, so read the funding line every time. Oe 2017 and Hsu 2021 (both double-blind RCTs at 120mg/day for 12 weeks, same research group) measured skin hydration, elasticity, and wrinkle-depth outcomes. Kawada 2014 is a review of two earlier RCTs (dose not specified), and Göllner 2017 is a weaker open-label study of a combo product. Most of that evidence shares Kewpie Corporation-affiliated authors, the company that manufactures the Hyabest HA ingredient the best-designed trials tested. A broader 2022 meta-analysis (Sun 2022, not HA-exclusive) pooled several skin supplements.
Four studies (plus one combo pilot), read carefully
These studies come from overlapping authors, which is why the funding line deserves attention. Results from small trials by one research group are a weaker kind of evidence than results from independent groups.
| Study | Design & population | Dose & duration | What was reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oe 2017 PMID 28761365 | Double-blind, placebo-controlled RCT, n=60 Japanese adults (22-59y), crow's-feet wrinkles | 120mg/day, 12 weeks | Wrinkle area and volume measures and subjective luster and suppleness were assessed against placebo. Most authors Kewpie Corporation-employed; sponsor. |
| Hsu 2021 PMID 34203487 | Double-blind, placebo-controlled RCT, n=40 healthy Asian adults (35-64y) | 120mg/day, 12 weeks | Wrinkle assessment, stratum corneum water content, transepidermal water loss, and elasticity were assessed against placebo. 3 of 7 authors (incl. Oe M, same lead author as 2017) Kewpie-employed. |
| Kawada 2014 PMID 25014997 | Review/summary of two Kewpie R&D RCTs, n=39 & n=42 women, two HA molecular weights | Dose not specified in accessible abstract | Skin moisture content was assessed against placebo at 3-6 weeks in both underlying trials. Kewpie R&D Division authors — same research program as Oe 2017/Hsu 2021. |
| Göllner 2017 PMID 29228816 | OPEN-LABEL practice study, no placebo control, n=20 women (45-60y) | "Regulatpro Hyaluron" combo (HA + biotin + vitamin C + copper + zinc), 40 days | Elasticity, hydration, roughness, and wrinkle depth were measured. No conflicts declared, but weakest design (unblinded), and the HA-specific contribution can't be isolated from the combo. |
| Schwartz 2012 PMID 22956862 | OPEN-LABEL PILOT, no control, n=26 healthy women, BioCell Collagen (combo) | 1g/day (≈600mg collagen II + 200mg chondroitin + 100mg HA), 12 weeks | Skin dryness, scaling, and wrinkles were tracked. Authors' own conclusion: "a controlled study is necessary to verify these observations." |
How to read these studies
In several small trials, most sharing overlapping industry-affiliated authors, oral HA at 120mg/day was studied over 8-12 weeks for skin hydration, elasticity, and wrinkle-depth measures. This page does not say oral HA improves skin, and it does not support anti-aging or any disease framing: none of those outcomes were tested, and none of the trials ran longer than 12 weeks. The two best-designed trials (Oe 2017, Hsu 2021) are double-blind and placebo-controlled with a consistent 120mg dose, but they come from the same research group and share Kewpie Corporation-affiliated co-authors, the maker of the Hyabest ingredient both trials tested. That is not disqualifying, but it means "replicated" here means "replicated by the same funder," a weaker claim than independent replication. The broader 2022 meta-analysis (Sun 2022) pools several supplement types and research groups, but it isn't an HA-specific review, so cite it for what it covers.
If you're considering it
120mg/day is the dose used in the two best-designed trials (see the dosage guide). The ingredient those trials tested is branded Hyabest. Generic sodium hyaluronate at the same dose is the same compound class, but the specific branded products have not themselves been trial-tested. Product comparisons are on the hyaluronic acid page. If you have a skin concern, a dermatologist is the right person to ask.
Compare Hyaluronic Acid Products
If you're ready to buy, here's how the hyaluronic acid products we track and verify compare on cost per mg.
| Product | Dose/Serving | Servings | Price | Cost/Day | Certification (as labelled) | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nutricost Hyaluronic Acid 100mg | 100 mg hyaluronic acid | 120 | $13.95 | $0.12 | GMP-compliant facility | Buy on Amazon |
| NOW Foods Hyaluronic Acid 50mg with MSM | 100 mg hyaluronic acid | 60 | $19.53 | $0.32 | GMP facility | Buy on Amazon |
| Doctor's Best Hyaluronic Acid with Chondroitin Sulfate (BioCell Collagen) | 1,000 mg BioCell Collagen blend | 90 | $38.99 | $0.43 | None stated | Buy on Amazon |
| Jarrow Formulas Hyaluronic Acid 120mg | 120 mg hyaluronic acid | 30 | $14.99 | $0.50 | None stated | Buy on Amazon |
| Natural Factors Hyabest Hyaluronic Acid 120mg | 120 mg hyaluronic acid | 60 | $34.97 | $0.58 | Hyabest branded ingredient (Kewpie Corporation-licensed raw material) | Buy on Amazon |
Frequently asked questions
What have the oral hyaluronic acid skin trials studied?
A few small trials, mostly at 120mg/day for 8-12 weeks, measured skin hydration, elasticity, and wrinkle-depth outcomes. Results were small, and most of the evidence shares Kewpie Corporation-affiliated authors. This page does not say oral hyaluronic acid improves skin.
Why does the Kewpie funding matter so much?
It's the majority of the evidence base — the best-designed trials come from a research program that also manufactures the tested ingredient (Hyabest). Read the funding line every time.
Are all four skin trials equally reliable?
No. Oe 2017 and Hsu 2021 are blinded RCTs. Göllner 2017 and Schwartz 2012 are open-label, unblinded, and weaker.
Is the 2022 meta-analysis HA-specific?
No. Sun 2022 covers multiple skin-moisturizing supplements (collagen, ceramides, procyanidin, HA), not HA alone.
Related
- Hyaluronic acid: what it is & who it's for
- Hyaluronic acid dosage guide — the 120mg skin dose in context
- Best hyaluronic acid — plain vs Hyabest vs BioCell, ranked
- Does oral HA actually reach your skin?
Sources
- Oe M, et al. "Oral hyaluronan relieves wrinkles: a double-blinded, placebo-controlled study over a 12-week period." Clin Cosmet Investig Dermatol. 2017. PMID: 28761365
- Hsu TF, et al. "Oral Hyaluronan Relieves Wrinkles and Improves Dry Skin: A 12-Week Double-Blinded, Placebo-Controlled Study." Nutrients. 2021. PMID: 34203487
- Kawada C, et al. "Ingested hyaluronan moisturizes dry skin." Nutrition Journal. 2014. PMID: 25014997
- Göllner I, et al. "Ingestion of an Oral Hyaluronan Solution Improves Skin Hydration, Wrinkle Reduction, Elasticity, and Skin Roughness." J Evid Based Complementary Altern Med. 2017. PMID: 29228816
- Schwartz SR, Park J. "Ingestion of BioCell Collagen, a novel hydrolyzed chicken sternal cartilage extract; enhanced blood microcirculation and reduced facial aging signs." Clin Interv Aging. 2012. PMID: 22956862
- Sun Q, et al. "Effectiveness of Dietary Supplement for Skin Moisturizing in Healthy Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of RCTs." Front Nutr. 2022. PMID: 35719159
- Full product dataset: /hyaluronic-acid/cost-by-brand.json (CC BY 4.0).