Verified Supplement Data

Best Colostrum Supplement (2026): Ranked by Disclosed IgG

The best colostrum for most people is Vitamatic Bovine Colostrum Powder: 2 g a serving with at least 50% IgG, $0.67 per gram of IgG, the lowest of any colostrum that states its IgG. For one on a testing list, buy Codeage Bovine Colostrum Powder.

By Erin Rose Updated October 20, 2026 How we score

Costs are brand prices per gram of IgG, checked October 18, 2026.

Our pick for: Most people

Vitamatic Bovine Colostrum Powder — 50% IgG (60 servings)

Vitamatic Bovine Colostrum Powder

4.0/10 Our score

Tied for the top score of the 7 we score; it is the only one of those that states its IgG. No colostrum reaches the dose trials used, so 4.0 is the best any scores today

Colostrum
2 g1 serving (2 scoops), from cows
IgG
50% or moreAbout 1 g of IgG a serving
Per gram of IgG
$0.67Brand price; Amazon’s can differ
Jar we link
120 g, 60 servingsOn Amazon
Testing list
Not on a list we holdThe label says “Lab Tested” but names no outside lab
Cost a serving
$0.672 g, at the brand’s price

Why we pick it It states at least 50% IgG, the antibodies that set colostrum apart and the most of any colostrum we compare. It also costs the least per gram of IgG of any product that states it.

What you give up It is not on a public testing list. If you want one that is, see the tested pick below.

Which colostrum is right for you?

Colostrum is the first milk a cow makes after giving birth. What you pay for is its IgG, so we compare products by how much IgG a dollar buys.

Want one on a testing list?

Codeage Bovine Colostrum Powder is on NSF/ANSI 173, which checks that the tub holds what the label says and has no harmful levels of contaminants. It is the only colostrum on a public testing list we hold. The catch: its label does not state the IgG, so we cannot price it per gram of IgG. Want capsules? Codeage Colostrum Capsules are on the same list.

Codeage Bovine Colostrum Powder (4.3 oz)

Codeage Bovine Colostrum Powder
4.0/10 · $0.46 a 1 g scoop · NSF/ANSI 173

Check price on Amazon

Taking one scoop a day? The studies used much more.

Labels suggest 1 to 3 g a day. The small trials on gut and exercise used 20 to 60 g a day. That is why the IgG figure matters: the more IgG in each gram, the less powder it takes to get more. See how much colostrum to take.

Thinking about ARMRA?

ARMRA Colostrum is the best-known brand, but its label does not state the IgG, so you cannot tell how much you get. Its store suggests 4 or more 1 g scoops a day, which works out to about $4.00 a day at its own price. Our pick costs $0.67 for a 2 g serving.

Colostrum we scored, ranked

We scored 7 colostrum products on dose, testing, cost, label and recalls. Here they are, our pick first, then by score, with why each one is or is not a pick. Costs are per gram of IgG at each brand’s own price; “not stated” means the label gives no IgG figure. Products with the same score are listed by cost.

ColostrumPer gram of IgGWhy it is or is not a pick
Vitamatic Bovine Colostrum Powder4.0/10$0.67Our pick: states 50% IgG, the most here, at the lowest cost per gram of IgG
Codeage Bovine Colostrum Powder4.0/10Not statedOur tested pick (NSF/ANSI 173)
Codeage Colostrum Capsules4.0/10Not statedCapsules on NSF/ANSI 173; six capsules a serving
Nutricost Colostrum Capsules2.5/10Not statedCapsules, 1 g a serving; the brand says third-party tested but names no lab
ARMRA Colostrum2.5/10Not statedThe best-known brand; its store suggests 4 scoops a day
Vital Proteins Bovine Colostrum2.0/10$2.78States 40% IgG, but costs 4.1 times our pick per gram of IgG
NOW Foods Colostrum1.0/10Not statedThe cheapest a day, but only 0.5 g a capsule

How to read a colostrum label

Look for a minimum IgG %, such as “30% IgG.” Multiply it by the grams of colostrum in a serving to get the grams of IgG you take. Words like “first milking,” “grass-fed” and “cold-processed” describe how it was made, not how much IgG it holds.

Does colostrum work?

The research is small. A review of 5 trials with 152 people found fewer cold symptoms in athletes during hard training (Jones 2016). Small trials found less gut leakiness after a hard workout (Marchbank 2011) and with NSAID painkillers (Playford 1999), but an 8-week trial in runners found more (Buckley 2009). We found no trials on skin, hair or general immunity. Colostrum is milk, so skip it if you have a cow’s-milk-protein allergy (Porcaro 2019). More in our colostrum guide.

Questions people ask

What is IgG, and why does it matter?

IgG (immunoglobulin G) is the main antibody in colostrum and the best single measure of how strong a colostrum is. A label that states a minimum IgG % lets you work out how much you get. Grams of powder alone do not tell you.

Powder or capsules?

Powder. A scoop holds 1 to 3 g of colostrum; a capsule holds 0.5 g, so you would need several a day to match one scoop. How much colostrum to take.

Who should not take colostrum?

Anyone with a cow’s-milk-protein allergy. Colostrum is milk, with the same casein and whey proteins. Most people who are lactose intolerant handle it, because it is low in lactose.

How we score

Five marks: does a serving hold a studied dose; is the product on a public testing list (a brand’s own testing claim, with no listing, earns half the points); what a gram of IgG costs at the brand’s own price against the cheapest; does the label state the IgG; and the brand’s FDA recall record. Dose and testing are worth up to 3 points each, cost up to 2, label and recalls up to 1 each, for 10 in all. No colostrum gets the dose points, because no serving comes close to the 20 g a day the trials used, so 4.0 is the top score. More on our method.

Sources

  1. Jones AW, et al. “Bovine colostrum supplementation and upper respiratory symptoms during exercise training: a systematic review and meta-analysis.” BMC Sports Sci Med Rehabil. 2016. PubMed 27462401
  2. Marchbank T, et al. “The nutriceutical bovine colostrum truncates the increase in gut permeability caused by heavy exercise in athletes.” Am J Physiol Gastrointest Liver Physiol. 2011. PubMed 21148400
  3. Playford RJ, et al. “Bovine colostrum is a health food supplement which prevents NSAID induced gut damage.” Gut. 1999. PubMed 10205201
  4. Buckley JD, et al. “Bovine colostrum supplementation during running training increases intestinal permeability.” Nutrients. 2009. PubMed 22253980
  5. Porcaro F, et al. “Anaphylaxis to cutaneous exposure to bovine colostrum based cream.” Asian Pac J Allergy Immunol. 2019. PubMed 29549703
  6. Testing list: NSF/ANSI 173, read August 25, 2026. IgG and label facts from each brand’s own page.