Saffron Gummies vs the 30 mg Studied Dose (2026)
Not medical advice. This summarizes randomized trials and meta-analyses, the labels manufacturers file with the NIH, what Amazon listings claim, and current Amazon prices. Depression is treated with a clinician; the saffron for depression page covers what the trials can and cannot say.
Quick answer
The saffron dose with evidence is 30 mg a day of a standardized extract, and the gummies we track hit the number without the standardization. Nearly every mood trial used 30 mg a day (15 mg twice daily) of an extract with a stated crocin or safranal content; the branded affron extract is dosed at 28 mg. All three gummies we track state 30 mg per serving; none states what the extract is standardized to.
The Amazon shelf is a mood-gummy shelf, not a saffron shelf. Across 69 listings, 81.2% claim mood, 36.2% are “N-in-1” blends, 73.9% are sugar-free, and 4.3% use affron, the extract in the add-on trial. The gummy we pick, Syfra Labs Saffron 30 mg & L-Theanine 200 mg Gummies, costs $0.67 per 30 mg, 1.5× the standardized capsule we rank. See the ranking →
Want a standardized capsule at the trial dose? See the ranked saffron picks →
The dose the trials used, and the number they did not put on the front
Saffron’s mood evidence is unusually consistent on dose. A 2019 meta-analysis of randomized trials found saffron improved mild to moderate depressive symptoms against placebo (PMID 30036891), and a 2020 systematic review and meta-analysis reached the same conclusion on safety and efficacy (PMID 32221179); the trials behind both used about 30 mg a day, typically 15 mg twice daily, for 6 to 8 weeks. In adults with persistent symptoms on antidepressants, 28 mg a day of the standardized affron extract improved symptoms as an add-on in a randomized, placebo-controlled study (PMID 31475623). The dosage guide lays out the trials by goal.
What every one of those extracts had, and most gummies lack, is a stated standardization: a crocin, safranal or Lepticrosalides percentage that says the 30 mg was measured against something. The is your saffron real page explains why that matters for the most adulterated spice on earth. A gummy that prints “30 mg saffron extract” and nothing else has matched the trial weight, not the trial material.
Saffron gummies ranked by cost per 30 mg
Product links go to Amazon and we may earn a commission if you buy. It never changes which product we pick or what we say about it. How we choose.
Extract per serving is what each listing declares; cost per 30 mg is the price per serving divided by the extract per serving, times 30. Standardization is what the listing states, or “not stated”. Cheapest first, with the standardized capsules the best saffron guide ranks as the comparison.
| Product | Per 30 mg | Units for 30 mg | Extract / serving | Standardization | Also in it | Servings | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Syfra Labs Saffron 30 mg & L-Theanine 200 mg Gummies | $0.67 | 2 gummies | 30 mg / 2 gummies | not stated | 200 mg L-theanine | 45 | $29.99 | Check price |
Sakoon Saffron Gummies 30 mg with Rhodiola & L-Theanine | $0.80 | 2 gummies | 30 mg / 2 gummies | not stated | 150 mg rhodiola, 100 mg L-theanine | 30 | $24.00 | Check price |
NUSAVA 4-in-1 Saffron Gummies 30 mg | $0.86 | 1 gummy | 30 mg / 1 gummy | not stated | 150 mg L-theanine, 40 mg rhodiola, 25 mg L-tyrosine | 30 | $25.95 | Amazon |
| Nootropics Depot Saffron Extract 30 mg (capsule) | $0.45 | 1 capsule | 30 mg / 1 capsule | 7.5% crocins, 1% safranals (HPLC, disclosed) | saffron only | 60 | $26.99 | Amazon |
| Sports Research Saffron with Affron 30 mg (capsule) | $0.50 | 1 capsule | 30 mg / 1 softgel | affron (3.5% Lepticrosalides, disclosed) | saffron only | 60 | $29.95 | Amazon |
Syfra Labs Saffron 30 mg & L-Theanine 200 mg Gummies is the cheapest 30 mg in a gummy and sugar-free, but it is really an L-theanine gummy (200 mg) with saffron in it, and it states no standardization. Sakoon Saffron Gummies 30 mg with Rhodiola & L-Theanine pairs the same 30 mg with rhodiola and L-theanine. Both cost more per 30 mg than Nootropics Depot Saffron Extract 30 mg, which discloses its crocin and safranal content by HPLC, and than Sports Research Saffron with Affron 30 mg, which is the affron extract the add-on trial used; the gummy premium over the disclosed capsule is 1.5×.
We read 69 Amazon listings: what saffron gummies claim
Original research The first three result pages for eight saffron gummy searches on Amazon.com, deduplicated by ASIN and filtered to gummies sold as saffron: 69 listings from 51 brands, each classified by regex on the title and feature bullets, every figure recomputed in two halves split by ASIN parity. The NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database holds 13 gummy labels with saffron on the panel, of which 2 are sold as saffron gummies; too few for a census, so they are printed as facts below.
| Item | Value (%) |
|---|---|
| Claims mood | 81.2% |
| Sugar-free | 73.9% |
| "N-in-1" blend | 36.2% |
| Third-party testing claimed | 17.4% |
| Names Safr'Inside | 11.6% |
| Names affron (trial extract) | 4.3% |
| "Clinically studied" claim | 4.3% |
| Explains mg as an equivalent | 7.2% |
The typical listing is a 60-count bottle at about $19.95, sold on mood. The branded, trial-tested extracts are rare: affron on 4.3% of listings, Safr’Inside on 11.6%, Satiereal on 0%. 4.3% say “clinically studied”, which is a claim about an ingredient somewhere in the blend, not about the gummy. The blends are the point of the format: a 30 mg extract is a small thing to sell, so the shelf sells calm, focus and mood with saffron as the headline. Whether a specific gummy’s 30 mg is the trial extract is knowable only when the listing names it.
How we read the listings and the labels, and what did not hold
Method: 69 listings retrieved from Amazon.com search results through the Creators API on 2026-09-21 (queries: saffron gummies; saffron extract gummies; saffron gummies for mood; affron saffron gummies; saffron gummies 88mg; saffron gummies for women; saffron appetite gummies; saffron gummies sugar free), deduplicated by ASIN and kept only when the title names saffron and a gummy or chew; each classified by regular expressions over the title and feature bullets. A listing census measures what sellers claim, not what a gummy contains. Every figure was recomputed in two halves split by ASIN parity: 15 of 21 checks agreed (shares within 8 points, medians within 25%); only those are printed. Not printed (6): crocin_pct_pct, blend_pct, declared_mg_pct, median_declared_mg, median_gummies_per_serving, two_plus_gummies_pct. The declared-milligram figures are also not printed even where they held, because saffron listings are blends (“200 mg L-theanine + 30 mg saffron”) and the regex could not be made to attach the right number to saffron reliably; the catalog amounts were read by hand from each listing. The NIH labels were enumerated from the Dietary Supplement Label Database by paging its ranked search for saffron gummy terms and keeping labels whose filed physical state is “Gummy or Jelly” and whose panel carries a saffron row (13 labels, 2 sold as saffron); no statistic is claimed for them. Open data at /saffron/gummies.json (CC BY 4.0). What it cannot tell you: the crocin or safranal content of any gummy, whether a gummy matches its label, or anything about brands that have not filed with the NIH.
The NIH labels: 2 saffron gummies filed
Only 2 of the 13 gummy labels with saffron on the panel are sold as saffron gummies; the rest are sleep, mood and multi blends with a pinch of it. Flamingo Supplements (NIH 314629) declares 30 mg of saffron extract per 2 gummies with 4 g of sugar, the trial weight exactly. aSquared Nutrition (NIH 322076) declares 88.5 mg per gummy, directed 2 times a day, the 88 mg-per-unit figure common on capsule labels rather than the 30 mg mood dose. Neither label states a crocin or safranal percentage, and the first is itself a blend with rhodiola, lemon balm and GABA, which is the pattern the whole gummy shelf shares with them.
Who a saffron gummy makes sense for
A gummy suits someone who wants a low-dose daily habit with saffron in it, will not swallow capsules, and is happy to take the blend partner (L-theanine, rhodiola) that comes with it. Check that the listing states milligrams of extract per serving and, ideally, names the extract; 73.9% of listings are sugar-free, so the sugar cost is avoidable here in a way it is not for most gummies.
Choose a capsule instead if the mood evidence is the reason you are buying: the trials used a standardized extract, the single-ingredient capsules we rank state their crocin, safranal or Lepticrosalides content and cost less per 30 mg, and the depression page is explicit that saffron is an adjunct in the trials, not a replacement for treatment. Do not give saffron gummies to children on the strength of “calm” and “focus” claims; no pediatric trial supports it, and the dosage guide lists the cautions, including pregnancy. None of this is medical advice.
Frequently asked questions
How much saffron is in a saffron gummy?
The gummies we track state 30 mg of saffron extract per serving, which is the dose the mood trials used (30 mg a day, usually 15 mg twice daily; the branded affron extract is dosed at 28 mg). The catch is standardization: none of the three states a crocin or safranal percentage, so "30 mg" tells you the weight of an extract, not its strength. Of the 2 saffron gummy labels filed with the NIH, one lists 30 mg per 2 gummies and the other 88.5 mg per gummy.
Do saffron gummies work for mood like the capsules in the studies?
The evidence is for a standardized extract at 30 mg a day over 6 to 8 weeks: two meta-analyses of randomized trials found saffron beat placebo for mild to moderate depressive symptoms, and an affron trial at 28 mg a day improved symptoms as an add-on to antidepressants. A gummy with the same standardized extract at the same dose is the same ingredient; a gummy with an unstandardized 30 mg is a different, untested product. 4.3% of the 69 listings we read use affron; 0% use Satiereal.
Are saffron gummies safe for kids?
No trial supports saffron in children, and a large share of the Amazon shelf is sold for kids and teens as "calm" or "focus" gummies; 81.2% of listings make a mood claim. Saffron at 30 mg a day has been well tolerated in adult trials of a few weeks; that is the extent of the safety data. A child's supplement is a clinician's call, and the dosage guide lists who should be careful, including pregnancy.
Why are most saffron gummies blends?
Because 30 mg of extract is a small amount to sell a gummy on. 36.2% of listings are "N-in-1" formulas and most pair saffron with L-theanine, rhodiola, magnesium or 5-HTP; 73.9% are sugar-free. Every gummy we track is a blend. If you want the trial dose and nothing else, the capsules we rank are single-ingredient, standardized and cheaper per 30 mg.
Which saffron gummies are best?
Syfra Labs Saffron 30 mg & L-Theanine 200 mg Gummies: 30 mg of saffron extract with 200 mg L-theanine per 2 gummies, sugar-free, the cheapest 30 mg of the gummies we track at $0.67. Standardization is not stated on any gummy we track, so the tested pick remains a capsule: Nootropics Depot Saffron Extract 30 mg at $0.45 per 30 mg with disclosed crocin and safranal content, or Sports Research Saffron with Affron 30 mg for the affron extract itself at $0.50.
Related guides
- Saffron: what the trials show and what to buy
- Best saffron supplement, ranked by standardization and cost
- Saffron dosage: 30 mg a day and what to check
- Does saffron help depression?
- Is your saffron real? Standardization and adulteration
Sources
- Tóth B, et al. "The Efficacy of Saffron in the Treatment of Mild to Moderate Depression: A Meta-analysis." Planta Med. 2019. PMID: 30036891
- Dai L, et al. "Safety and Efficacy of Saffron (Crocus sativus L.) for Treating Mild to Moderate Depression: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis." J Nerv Ment Dis. 2020. PMID: 32221179
- Lopresti AL, et al. "Efficacy of a standardised saffron extract (affron) as an add-on to antidepressant medication for the treatment of persistent depressive symptoms in adults: A randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled study." J Psychopharmacol. 2019. PMID: 31475623
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database. dsld.od.nih.gov (labels retrieved 2026-09-21).
- Amazon.com search results via the Creators API, retrieved 2026-09-21 (listing census; sellers' claims, not measurements).


