Verified Supplement Data

Vital Proteins vs Sports Research Collagen 2026: Per Gram

Buy Sports Research: $0.66 per 10 g vs Vital Proteins’ $0.82. Both are screened for banned drugs. Only Vital Proteins is checked for metals.

By Erin Rose Updated October 20, 2026 Methodology

 

Vital Proteins

9.0/10

Cost
$0.82 per 10 g
Check price

Better buy

Sports Research

10.0/10

Cost
$0.66 per 10 g
Check price

Better tested for metals: Vital Proteins. It is also on NSF/ANSI 173, which checks the label and heavy metals. What each list checks.

Sports Research is also our top collagen pick overall (best collagen).

How we chose

5
testing lists searched for each product, August 25, 2026 to September 22, 2026
2
NIH label records read, one for each tub we price
6
tub sizes priced at each brand’s own store, September 29, 2026

Is it the same collagen?

Close to it. Both are unflavored, hydrolyzed collagen peptides from cows, with nothing else in the tub. Per 10 g, the two labels list nearly the same protein, calories and sodium. Their main amino acids differ by 10 to 17%:

Per 10 g of powder, from each label. These are the brands’ own figures.
Per 10 gVital ProteinsSports Research
Protein9.0 g9.1 g
Calories3536
Sodium55 mg55 mg
Glycine1,860 mg2,182 mg
Proline1,038 mg1,209 mg
Hydroxyproline1,029 mg927 mg

Neither uses a branded peptide like Verisol or Fortigel. So at the same dose, we don’t expect one of these to work better than the other. What differs is how each tub is checked, and the price.

Who checks each tub, and for what

Both are screened for drugs banned in sport. The lists check different things:

What each testing list checks

Vital Proteins

NSF/ANSI 173 and NSF Certified for Sport

The label is accurate, metals stay under limits, and no banned drugs

Can you look it up? Yes. NSF files it under Nestlé Healthcare Nutrition, so search that name too.

Sports Research

Informed Choice

Tubs bought from shops, at least monthly, for banned drugs

Can you look it up? Yes, by name or by the batch number on your tub. It lists the batches it tested. It does not check the collagen amount or metals.

From each program’s own description and list, searched August 25, 2026 to September 22, 2026.

Search NSF/ANSI 173 for each brand

Same search, two brands. Vital Proteins’ collagen is on the list. Sports Research’s entries are both creatine. Screenshots taken August 25, 2026; click an image to open the live page.

Every list we searched

We searched each program’s own list for each product. “Listed” means we found the product there.
Testing listVital ProteinsSports Research
NSF Certified for SportListedNot found
NSF/ANSI 173ListedNot found
Informed SportNot foundNot found
Informed ChoiceNot foundListed
USP VerifiedNot foundNot found

What the labels say

The labels differ in serving size, source and how the powder mixes.

Supplement Facts panel from the Vital Proteins label: 20 g serving.
Vital Proteins · 547 g (19.3 oz), about 27 servings of 2 scoops Label on file with NIH DSLD 309504, entered June 20, 2024. This is the label for the 19.3 oz tub, the pack we price.
Supplement Facts panel from the Sports Research label: 11 g serving. Certification mark printed on the Sports Research label.
Sports Research · 907 g (32 oz), about 82 servings of 1 scoop Label on file with NIH DSLD 326298, entered January 23, 2025. This is the label for the 32 oz tub, the pack we price. The NSF seal on it is NSF's gluten-free mark, not a contents test.
Quoted or summarized from each label. These are the makers’ claims; we did not check them.
On the labelVital ProteinsSports Research
A serving2 scoops, 20 g1 scoop, 11 g
Source“Grass fed + pasture raised” bovineBovine hides from the USA, New Zealand and/or Australia; made in Korea
TypesNot stated“Hydrolyzed type I & III”
Mixing“Mix in hot or cold liquids”“May clump in cold liquids”: mix into room-temperature liquid first
Allergen noteMade where milk, fish and tree nuts are processedNot stated on the label

Watch the serving size. Vital Proteins’ Supplement Facts use 2 scoops as a serving, so its tub lists about 27 servings against 82. That makes it look smaller than it is. Compare grams.

How big is the price gap?

Vital Proteins costs 24% more, or $0.16 more per 10 g. That compares its 19.3 oz tub with Sports Research’s 32 oz tub at list price. At 10 g a day, that is $300 a year against $241 for Sports Research.

Each brand’s own list price for every tub size, checked September 29, 2026. Small tubs cost more per gram.
TubPricePer 10 g
Vital Proteins, 5 oz$15.00$1.06
Vital Proteins, 9.33 oz$27.00$1.02
Vital Proteins, 19.3 oz$45.00$0.82
Sports Research, 3.9 oz$12.95$1.17
Sports Research, 16 oz$32.95$0.73
Sports Research, 32 oz$59.95$0.66

The buttons go to Amazon, where prices differ from the brands’ stores. Every collagen we price: collagen prices.

How the two scored

Sports Research scores 10.0 out of 10 and Vital Proteins 9.0. They match on dose, testing, label and recalls. Vital Proteins loses a point on cost: $0.82 per 10 g, against $0.66 for Sports Research. Our score counts any public testing list the same way, so it does not show the testing gap. How we score.

Who should buy which

Every collagen ranked: the best collagen, scored. What each testing list means: third-party tested collagen.

What the research found about collagen itself

The trials are about this kind of collagen, not either brand. Neither brand has a trial of its own tub.

Questions

How much collagen should I take a day?

Skin trials mostly used 2.5 to 5 g a day for 8 to 12 weeks, and trials that paired collagen with strength training used 15 g. One Sports Research scoop holds about 11 g. One Vital Proteins scoop holds about 10 g, so its 2-scoop serving of 20 g covers any of these doses. The collagen dosage guide has the dose for each goal.

How long does each tub last?

At 10 g a day, Vital Proteins’ 19.3 oz tub (about 547 g) lasts about 54 days. Sports Research’s 32 oz tub (about 907 g) lasts about 90 days.

Sources

  1. Labels: NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, 309504 (Vital Proteins Collagen Peptides, 19.3 oz) and 326298 (Sports Research Collagen Peptides, 32 oz).
  2. Testing: NSF/ANSI 173 and NSF Certified for Sport listing 1792557 (Vital Proteins); Informed Choice (Sports Research). Searched August 25, 2026 to September 22, 2026.
  3. Prices: vitalproteins.com and sportsresearch.com, each brand’s list price for every size, checked September 29, 2026. Amazon is only where the buy links go.
  4. Pu SY, et al. Effects of oral collagen for skin anti-aging: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Nutrients. 2023. PubMed 37432180
  5. Myung SK, et al. 2025. Am J Med. 23 skin trials, split by funding and quality. PubMed 40324552
  6. The 15 g training dose: Zdzieblik D, et al. 2015, PubMed 26353786; Jendricke P, et al. 2019, PubMed 31010031.
  7. Recalls: FDA enforcement (recall) reports via openFDA, checked October 24, 2026.