Vitamin B12 1000 mcg: Too Much? Plus the Cheapest Tablet
Not medical advice. This summarizes the oral B12 trials, the absorption arithmetic behind the dose, the labels manufacturers file with the NIH, and current Amazon prices. A confirmed deficiency, especially with numbness or memory symptoms, should be managed with a clinician, and B12 supplements can mask a folate problem on a blood count.
Quick answer
1,000 mcg of B12 is not too much; it is the dose sized so that enough gets in. It is about 417× the 2.4 mcg RDA, but only about 11.5 mcg of a 1,000 mcg tablet is absorbed: the intrinsic-factor pathway saturates near 1.5 mcg and about 1% of the rest crosses passively. There is no upper limit because the surplus is not absorbed, and what is absorbed beyond need is excreted. It is also the shelf’s dose: of the 203 standalone B12 labels with a dose that we read, 33.5% are exactly 1,000 mcg and 63.1% are 1,000 or more.
Buy by cost per dose, then by form only if you have a reason. The cheapest 1,000 mcg tablet we track is Vitamatic Vitamin B12 1000 mcg Fast Dissolve at $0.025 a day; the cheapest with a USP or NSF mark is Nature Made Vitamin B12 1000 mcg Sublingual Fast Dissolve at $0.112; the cheapest methylcobalamin is Nutricost Vitamin B12 Methylcobalamin 1000 mcg at $0.058. See every 1,000 mcg product ranked →
On this page
Every 1,000 mcg vitamin B12 we track, ranked by cost per dose
Product links go to Amazon and we may earn a commission if you buy. It never changes which product we pick or what we say about it. How we choose.
One tablet, capsule or softgel is one 1,000 mcg dose on every product here, so cost per dose is the pack price divided by the count. Chemical form is read from the label or the NIH filing; where neither states it, the table says so. Cheapest first; prices are the current Amazon price for the exact pack.
| Product | Per dose | Per year | Count | Price | Form | Format | Verification | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $0.025 | $9 | 365 | $8.99 | cyanocobalamin | tablet, dissolves | none stated | Check price | |
Nature's Bounty Vitamin B12 1000 mcg Caplets | $0.050 | $18 | 200 | $9.97 | cyanocobalamin | tablet | none stated | Check price |
| $0.058 | $21 | 240 | $13.95 | methylcobalamin | capsule | none stated | Check price | |
Nature Made Vitamin B12 1000 mcg Time Release | $0.067 | $24 | 160 | $10.65 | cyanocobalamin | tablet | none stated | Check price |
Nature Made Vitamin B12 1000 mcg Sublingual Fast Dissolve | $0.112 | $41 | 150 | $16.85 | not stated | tablet, dissolves | USP Verified | Check price |
NatureWise Vitamin B12 1000 mcg | $0.117 | $43 | 60 | $6.99 | not stated | softgel | NSF Contents Certified | Check price |
Jarrow Formulas Methyl B-12 1000 mcg Lemon | $0.119 | $44 | 100 | $11.92 | methylcobalamin | tablet, dissolves | none stated | Check price |
Thorne Vitamin B12 as Methylcobalamin 1 mg | $0.400 | $146 | 60 | $24.00 | methylcobalamin | capsule | NSF Certified for Sport | Check price |
The spread is $0.025 to $0.40 a dose, 16.2× from cheapest to priciest, for the same 1,000 mcg. 3 of the 8 are methylcobalamin, 3 cyanocobalamin, and 2 do not state the form on the listing or filing; 3 carry a USP or NSF mark. The expensive end is the sports-certified methyl capsule, not a better vitamin.
Why 1,000 mcg is the dose: the absorption arithmetic
B12 gets into the blood two ways. The efficient route needs intrinsic factor from the stomach and saturates at roughly 1.5 to 2 mcg per dose, so above that a bigger tablet does nothing through it. The inefficient route is passive diffusion across the gut wall, which takes about 1% of whatever is swallowed regardless of intrinsic factor (Carmel 2008, PMID 18606874). A 1,000 mcg tablet therefore delivers about 1.5 mcg by the first route and about 10 mcg by the second, roughly 11.5 mcg in all, which is 4.8× the RDA and, crucially, still several times the RDA in someone whose first route does not work at all. That is the whole logic of the dose: you are not taking 1,000 mcg for the efficient pathway, you are taking it so that 1% of it is enough.
The trials bear that out. In the study that made oral B12 respectable, 2,000 mcg a day by mouth matched or beat 1,000 mcg by injection in people with deficiency (Kuzminski 1998, PMID 9694707); the Cochrane review of oral versus intramuscular B12 found oral doses in the 1,000 to 2,000 mcg range raised blood levels about as well as injections (Wang 2018, PMID 29543316); and the dose-finding trial in older people with mild deficiency estimated the lowest daily dose that normalised the blood marker at 647 to 1,032 mcg, more than 200 times the RDA (Eussen 2005, PMID 15911731). 1,000 mcg is the round number just above that floor. There is no tolerable upper intake level because no toxicity from oral B12 has been documented; the one published caution is an association between years of very high B-vitamin intake (B12 above 55 mcg a day) and lung cancer in men who smoke, not in women or non-smokers (Brasky 2017, PMID 28829668). Our is 1,000 mcg too much page goes through that safety question on its own.
Who 1,000 mcg is for
1,000 mcg is for anyone whose problem is getting B12 in, not eating it. Adults over 50, whose stomach acid frees less B12 from food; people on metformin or a proton-pump inhibitor for years, both of which lower B12 levels; vegans and vegetarians, whose diet contains almost none; anyone after gastric surgery; and anyone with a measured low level or pernicious anaemia, where the passive route is the only route and 1,000 to 2,000 mcg a day is the oral alternative to injections. For those groups a 1,000 mcg tablet a day is the standard, and for a vegan who would rather not take one daily, 1,000 mcg two or three times a week is the common alternative because of the same arithmetic.
It is not necessary for a healthy omnivore under 50, whose diet supplies the RDA several times over, and it is not a treatment for tiredness in someone with a normal level: the trials that showed a benefit enrolled people who were low. If you are not sure which group you are in, the MMA test is the marker that catches a functional deficiency a serum B12 misses, and the dosage guide maps dose to situation.
Methylcobalamin or cyanocobalamin at 1,000 mcg
Both become the same two coenzymes inside the cell, and the evidence does not separate them at this dose. Cyanocobalamin is the form in the trials above; a 2015 review of the coenzyme forms concluded they are not likely to be superior to cyano- or hydroxocobalamin for preventing or treating deficiency (Obeid 2015, PMID 25820384). Methyl is the reasonable choice for the small group who must avoid the cyanide in cyanocobalamin (about 19 mcg per 1,000 mcg tablet, from the molar masses; trivial for most people, relevant in kidney failure and Leber’s hereditary optic neuropathy) and for anyone who simply prefers it; it is not a stronger dose. In the catalog it is a price question: Nutricost Vitamin B12 Methylcobalamin 1000 mcg at $0.058 a dose is the cheapest methyl and Vitamatic Vitamin B12 1000 mcg Fast Dissolve at $0.025 the cheapest cyano, a 2.4x premium for the methyl name. The methylcobalamin vs cyanocobalamin page has the full comparison.
We read 881 B12 labels: 1,000 mcg is the single most common dose
Original research881 of the 14,384 B12 labels in the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database were read; 211 are standalone B12 products (the product’s own name is the B12 product, not a multivitamin or B-complex) and 203 of those declare a dose per serving. Every share below was recomputed in two halves of the read order and only the ones that agreed are printed.
The median standalone B12 label is 1,000 mcg. 33.5% are exactly 1,000 mcg, 63.1% are 1,000 mcg or more, and 13.3% are 5,000 mcg or more; 0.5% are at or below the 2.4 mcg RDA. The shelf is built around the deficiency dose rather than the RDA, which follows from the absorption arithmetic, and it means the product that matches this page’s query is the easiest B12 to find, not the hardest. The 5,000 mcg tier is the one to be sceptical of: at 1% passive absorption it delivers about 40 mcg more than 1,000 does, far beyond any daily need, at a higher price.
| Item | Value (%) |
|---|---|
| under 100 mcg | 1.5% (3) |
| 100-999 mcg | 35.5% (72) |
| exactly 1,000 mcg | 33.5% (68) |
| 1,001-4,999 mcg | 16.3% (33) |
| 5,000 mcg or more | 13.3% (27) |
How we read the labels, and what did not hold
Method: 881 labels from the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (Supplement Facts panel, products whose own name is the B12 product); 211 standalone B12 products, 203 with a declared dose. Every finding was recomputed in two halves of the read order: 5 of 5 held and only those are printed. 670 labels where B12 is one ingredient of a multivitamin or B-complex are excluded: pooling them with standalone B12 fails split-half validation (median 500 mcg vs 30 mcg by read order) because they are a different product category, not a different sample of the same one. The chemical-form counts on this page (362 labels listing methylcobalamin, 302 cyanocobalamin, from the wider 881-label read) are descriptive counts, not validated findings; the wider read’s own shape findings all failed split-half validation and none is printed. The census is published as open data at /b12/1000-mcg.json (CC BY 4.0). What it cannot tell you: sales volume per label, whether a product contains what its label says (that is what USP and NSF marks are for), or anything about products that have not filed with the NIH.
Which B12 1000 mcg to buy
Frequently asked questions
Is 1,000 mcg of vitamin B12 too much?
No. It is about 417 times the 2.4 mcg RDA, but B12 has no tolerable upper intake level because no toxicity from oral intake has been found, and 1,000 mcg is the dose the deficiency trials use. The arithmetic is why: the intrinsic-factor pathway saturates at roughly 1.5 mcg per dose and about 1% of any oral dose crosses by passive diffusion, so a 1,000 mcg tablet delivers roughly 11.5 mcg, about 4.8 times the RDA, and the other 988.5 mcg passes through unabsorbed. The one published caution is an association between years of very high B-vitamin intake and lung cancer in men who smoke.
How much of a 1,000 mcg B12 tablet is absorbed?
About 11.5 mcg in someone with normal absorption: up to about 1.5 mcg through the intrinsic-factor pathway, which is saturated by then, plus about 1% of the dose (10 mcg) by passive diffusion across the gut wall. The passive fraction is the reason 1,000 mcg works for people who cannot absorb B12 the normal way, including pernicious anaemia and after gastric surgery: 10 mcg a day of passive uptake alone is several times the RDA.
Methylcobalamin or cyanocobalamin at 1,000 mcg?
Either; the evidence does not separate them at this dose. Cyanocobalamin is the form in the trials that established 1,000 to 2,000 mcg oral as equivalent to injections, and a 2015 review concluded the coenzyme forms are not likely to be superior for preventing or treating deficiency. Methylcobalamin costs more: the cheapest methyl 1,000 mcg we track is Nutricost Vitamin B12 Methylcobalamin 1000 mcg at $0.058 a dose against $0.025 for the cheapest cyanocobalamin, Vitamatic Vitamin B12 1000 mcg Fast Dissolve, 2.4 times the price. Of the 881 B12 labels we read, 362 list methylcobalamin and 302 cyanocobalamin, so the shelf has already voted for methyl; the trials have not.
Which B12 1000 mcg is cheapest?
Vitamatic Vitamin B12 1000 mcg Fast Dissolve at $0.025 per 1,000 mcg dose, $9 a year at one a day. The priciest, Thorne Vitamin B12 as Methylcobalamin 1 mg, costs 16.2 times as much per dose. 3 of the 8 products carry a USP or NSF mark, and the cheapest of those is Nature Made Vitamin B12 1000 mcg Sublingual Fast Dissolve at $0.112.
Who should take 1,000 mcg of B12?
People correcting a measured deficiency, people on metformin or a proton-pump inhibitor long-term, vegans and vegetarians who prefer one daily tablet to a lower dose, adults over 50 whose stomach acid no longer frees B12 from food well, and anyone after gastric surgery. In the dose-finding trial in older people with mild deficiency, the lowest daily dose that normalised the blood marker was estimated at 647 to 1,032 mcg, which is why 1,000 mcg rather than 100 became the standard tablet. A healthy omnivore under 50 does not need it, though it will not hurt.
Related guides
- Vitamin B12: what to buy and how much
- Is 1,000 mcg of B12 too much?
- B12 dosage guide
- Methylcobalamin vs cyanocobalamin
- Best B12 supplement, ranked
- B12 for seniors
- B12 deficiency signs
- The MMA test
Sources
- Carmel R. “How I treat cobalamin (vitamin B12) deficiency.” Blood. 2008. PMID: 18606874
- Kuzminski AM, et al. “Effective treatment of cobalamin deficiency with oral cobalamin.” Blood. 1998. PMID: 9694707
- Wang H, et al. “Oral vitamin B12 versus intramuscular vitamin B12 for vitamin B12 deficiency.” Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2018. PMID: 29543316
- Eussen SJ, et al. “Oral cyanocobalamin supplementation in older people with vitamin B12 deficiency: a dose-finding trial.” Arch Intern Med. 2005. PMID: 15911731
- Obeid R, et al. “Cobalamin coenzyme forms are not likely to be superior to cyano- and hydroxyl-cobalamin in prevention or treatment of cobalamin deficiency.” Mol Nutr Food Res. 2015. PMID: 25820384
- Brasky TM, et al. “Long-Term, Supplemental, One-Carbon Metabolism-Related Vitamin B Use in Relation to Lung Cancer Risk in the Vitamins and Lifestyle (VITAL) Cohort.” J Clin Oncol. 2017. PMID: 28829668
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. “Vitamin B12 Fact Sheet for Health Professionals.” ods.od.nih.gov (RDA; no tolerable upper intake level set).
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database. dsld.od.nih.gov





